LED light bulb (general service lamp) · Lumens and watts, efficacy against US minimums (45 lm/W now, formula-based from July 2028), CCT, CRI and R9, power factor, base, life
An LED light bulb is a self-ballasted lamp with an integrated driver that screws into a standard socket to replace other lamps. Ask three things first: what light output and colour the room needs, which efficacy and power-factor rules apply in the target market and date, and which base, size, dimming and life the fixture requires.
Integrated LED general service lamps (A-shape and similar omnidirectional bulbs, plus reflector lamps where compared) with screw or pin bases. LED tubes, vehicle LED bulbs and headlamps, fixtures with built-in LEDs (see LED downlights) and LED modules (see LED light module) are outside this page.
Start with your task
01
Under 10 CFR 430.32(dd), beginning July 25, 2022 the sale in the United States of any general service lamp that does not meet a minimum efficacy of 45 lumens per watt is prohibited. For lamps manufactured on or after July 25, 2028, integrated LED lamps must have a power factor of at least 0.7, and lamp efficacy must meet formulas by lamp type: for integrated omnidirectional short lamps without standby, efficacy ≥ 123/(1.2 + e^(−0.005 × (lumens − 200))) + 25.9 lm/W, and with standby mode operation the constant is 17.1. [1]
Editorial calculation: at 800 lumens the 2028 formula gives about 124 lm/W for an integrated omnidirectional lamp without standby and about 116 lm/W with standby mode operation, roughly 2.6–2.8 times the current 45 lm/W floor. [1]
Give the supplier the target market and compliance date, lumens and wattage, shape and base, CCT, CRI and R9, beam (omnidirectional or directional), dimming, power factor, standby power for connected lamps, rated life, enclosed-fixture rating and certifications.
02
ENERGY STAR's certified connected light bulb data lists a Philips Hue A19 omnidirectional lamp (model 9290012575) with an E26 medium base at 800 lumens and 10 W (80 lm/W), equivalent to a 60 W lamp, 4000 K, CRI 83 and R9 8, power factor 0.9, 25,000-hour life, dimmable, 0.3 W standby power, and maximum length 107.7 mm and diameter 60.5 mm, certified for the United States and Canada. [2]
Editorial calculation: 800 lm ÷ 10 W = 80 lm/W, matching the listing; this exceeds the 45 lm/W floor but is below the ≈116 lm/W the 2028 formula gives at 800 lm for lamps with standby mode operation, so a lamp of this efficacy manufactured after July 25, 2028 would need higher efficacy for US sale; 0.3 W standby over 8,760 hours is about 2.6 kWh per year. [2] [1]
03
The Ecodesign for Energy-Related Products and Energy Information (Lighting Products) Regulations 2021 (UK SI 2021/1095, Schedule 3), in force in England, Wales and Scotland from 1 October 2021, caps a light source's on-mode power at Ponmax = C × (L + Φuse/(F × η)) × R. For connected light sources not listed elsewhere η is 120 lm/W and L is 2.0 W; for other light sources η is 120 lm/W and L is 1.5 W. C is 1.08 for a non-directional mains lamp and 1.23 for a directional mains lamp, F is 1.00 for non-directional and 0.85 for directional lamps, and R is (CRI + 80)/160 for CRI above 25. Standby and networked standby power must each not exceed 0.5 W. [3]
Schedule 3 also requires the useful luminous flux and colour temperature to be shown on the lamp surface where space allows, with beam angle added for directional lamps. [3] These limits differ from the US 45 lm/W sales floor and the 2028 power-factor rule described above, so a lamp listed in the US dataset is not by that listing shown to meet GB rules. [1] [2]
Editorial calculation: for an 800 lm, CRI 83 non-directional mains connected lamp, R = (83 + 80)/160 = 1.02 and Ponmax = 1.08 × (2.0 + 800/120) × 1.02 ≈ 9.5 W; the 10 W ENERGY STAR-listed A19 above would exceed that by about 0.5 W. As a non-connected lamp (L = 1.5 W) the cap would be about 9.0 W.
The European Commission's EPREL energy-label database shows what a registered E27 bulb declares. LEDVANCE model AC49436, registered under the EU 2019/2015 labelling act and on the market from 6 April 2023, is a non-directional mains lamp giving 806 lm at 8.5 W on-mode power, 9 kWh per 1,000 h and energy class F on the A–G scale, at 4000 K and CRI 80, with a lumen maintenance factor of 0.93, a survival factor of 0.9, displacement factor 0.7, flicker Pst LM 1, stroboscopic effect SVM 0.4, colour consistency of 6 (MacAdam steps), 0 W standby, no dimming, and dimensions of 106 × 60 × 60 mm, with a 60 W equivalence claim. [4]
Editorial calculation: 806 ÷ 8.5 ≈ 95 lm/W. Against the GB Schedule 3 formula for a non-connected, non-directional mains lamp with CRI 80, R = (80 + 80)/160 = 1.0 and Ponmax = 1.08 × (1.5 + 806/120) × 1.0 ≈ 8.9 W, so the declared 8.5 W sits about 0.4 W under the cap; its Pst LM of 1 and SVM of 0.4 sit exactly at the GB limits, and its displacement factor of 0.7 is above the 0.5 required for 5–10 W lamps. EPREL data are the supplier's declaration for the EU market, not a GB compliance finding. [4] [3]
| Schedule 3, Table 5 requirement (LED mains lamps) | Limit |
|---|---|
| Colour rendering | CRI ≥ 80 (exceptions for some outdoor and industrial uses) |
| Displacement factor | No limit ≤ 5 W; ≥ 0.5 above 5–10 W; ≥ 0.7 above 10–25 W; ≥ 0.9 above 25 W |
| Flicker | Pst LM ≤ 1.0 at full load |
| Stroboscopic effect | SVM ≤ 0.4 at full load from 1 September 2024 |
| Colour consistency | Within a six-step MacAdam ellipse |
| Standby / networked standby | ≤ 0.5 W each |
For Great Britain, ask the supplier for declared Pon, useful flux, CRI, displacement factor, Pst LM, SVM and standby power, and check Pon against the Schedule 3 formula.
04
The supplier linked to this page lists LED light bulbs; its card links to the page reviewed.
Ask any supplier for a photometric test report with lumens, watts and efficacy, CCT and CRI with R9, power factor and harmonic data, rated life basis, dimming compatibility, standby power for smart lamps, dimensions and base, enclosed-fixture rating, and certifications for the target market.
05
This is a functional reference built from the sources cited; it is not one maker's specification.
| Part | Role | Fix in the order |
|---|---|---|
| LED source | Produces light at set CCT and CRI. [2] | Lumens; CCT; CRI; R9. |
| Integrated driver | Powers LEDs; sets power factor. [1] [2] | PF; dimming; standby. |
| Envelope and optics | Shape the distribution. [1] | Omnidirectional or directional. |
| Base | Fits the socket. [2] | E26 or market base. |
| Housing | Removes heat; sets size. [2] | Length; diameter. |
06
An LED bulb quotation needs values for your market. The table explains each field, gives published values where a reviewed source states them, and says what to obtain from the supplier.
| Field | What it means and published values | Ask the supplier for |
|---|---|---|
| Luminous Flux (lumens) | e.g. 800 lm (60 W equivalent). [2] | Measured lumens. |
| Power Consumption (watts) | e.g. 10 W. [2] | Wattage. |
| Color Temperature (kelvin) | e.g. 4000 K. [2] | CCT. |
| Color Rendering Index (index) | e.g. CRI 83, R9 8. [2] | CRI; R9. |
| Lifespan (hours) | e.g. 25,000 h; EU labels instead declare lumen maintenance (0.93) and survival (0.9) factors. [2] [4] | Rated life. |
| Beam Angle (degrees) | Omnidirectional vs directional types. [1] [2] | Distribution. |
| Input Voltage (V AC) | Not stated in the reviewed sources. | Voltage. |
| Power Factor | e.g. 0.9; ≥0.7 required for integrated LED from 2028 (US). [2] [1] | PF. |
| Operating Temperature (°C) | Not stated in the reviewed sources. | Range. |
| Ingress Protection | Not stated in the reviewed sources. | Rating. |
| Base Type | e.g. E26 (medium); E27 in an EU-registered lamp. [2] [4] | Base. |
| Weight (g) | Not stated in the reviewed sources. | Weight. |
| Flicker and stroboscopic effect | GB limits: Pst LM ≤ 1.0; SVM ≤ 0.4 from 1 September 2024 (SI 2021/1095); one EU-registered E27 lamp declares Pst LM 1 and SVM 0.4. [3] [4] | Measured Pst LM and SVM. |
07
Paste it into your enquiry below or into an email to a maker, then replace every bracket.
Market: [country; compliance date] Output: [lumens; watts; efficacy] Shape and base: [shape; base type] Colour: [CCT; CRI; R9] Power: [voltage; PF; dimming; standby] Life and ratings: [hours; enclosed fixture] Certificates: [ENERGY STAR; UL; CE]
This company lists LED light bulbs.
Lists LED light bulbs.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Explore company information and manufacturing capabilities, then discuss the scope of your project with a relevant supplier.
10 CFR 430.32 prohibits sale of general service lamps below 45 lm/W from July 25, 2022, with formula-based minimums for lamps made from July 25, 2028. [1]
The ENERGY STAR-listed Philips Hue A19 gives 800 lm at 10 W. [2]
The listed Philips Hue A19 shows 0.3 W standby power, and the 2028 US rule sets a lower efficacy constant for lamps with standby mode. [2] [1]
UK SI 2021/1095, Schedule 3, sets Pst LM ≤ 1.0 and, from 1 September 2024, SVM ≤ 0.4 at full load for LED mains light sources. [3]
In the European Commission's EPREL database; for example LEDVANCE model AC49436 declares 806 lm at 8.5 W, energy class F, CRI 80, Pst LM 1 and SVM 0.4. [4]
Sources checked 2026-10-12. 10 CFR 430.32 sets US energy conservation standards for general service lamps; ENERGY STAR publishes certified lamp data; UK SI 2021/1095 sets Great Britain ecodesign limits; the European Commission's EPREL database publishes the energy-label data suppliers register for each lamp model.
Ask for use case, specification boundaries, supplier type, and RFQ preparation information for this product.
Compare manufacturer profiles with relevant product and process capability.