Surface-mounted LED ceiling light · Lumens and wattage, CCT selection and CRI, damp or humid-room protection, controls and dimming, life, certification
An LED ceiling light is a fixture mounted directly on the ceiling surface to light a whole room. Ask three things first: how much light the room needs and in what colour, whether the room is humid (bathrooms, kitchens) and needs a moisture rating, and how the light will be switched, dimmed or controlled.
Surface-mounted (flush) LED ceiling luminaires for homes, hotels, offices and shops, including smart and moisture-resistant versions. Recessed downlights (see LED downlights), panel lights (see LED panel lights), track and spot lights and high-bay fittings are outside this page.
Start with your task
01
ENERGY STAR's certification record for the Aosclex 'Surface mounted led ceiling light' (model LBT-3/9XDPL-18, certified 27 November 2025) lists 1,480 lumens at 18.0 W input (82.2 lm/W), selectable colour temperatures of 2700, 3000, 3500, 4000 and 5000 K, CRI 88, power factor 0.92, continuous dimming, damp-location rating, a 72,000-hour light source life and markets in the United States and Canada. The record classifies the fixture type as 'Downlight Recessed' with a 9-inch, Type IC can rating. [1]
Fansen describes its full-spectrum ceiling lights as offering natural colour rendering, flicker-free light and a slim profile for low ceilings, in round and square designs with sizes and wattages by model, and advises choosing size, wattage, CCT and controls according to room size, ceiling height and application. [2]
Editorial calculation: 1,480 lm ÷ 18 W = 82.2 lm/W, matching the record; 72,000 hours is about 8.2 years of continuous operation. [1]
Flicker is worth a measured figure, not a claim. Price and colleagues at the UK Health Security Agency, Moorfields Eye Hospital and UCL (International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health, 2024) note that LED lighting on the UK's 50 Hz mains can show temporal light modulation at 100 Hz and above, and assessed installed classroom luminaires (LED in two schools, fluorescent in two) against the 2015 IEEE recommendations, using physiological percent flicker (PPF) with limits of 3% for low risk and 1% for no observable effect at frequencies above 90 Hz. All the modulation they measured had a 100 Hz base frequency; of the 16 luminaires tested, three (19%) met the no-observable-effect limit and one more (6%) met only the low-risk limit. The electric lights measured averaged 3000 K (range 2900–3100 K). [4]
Editorial calculation: four of 16 luminaires (25%) met even the IEEE low-risk limit, so 12 did not. Ask the supplier of a ceiling light for measured percent flicker or PPF at full output and at the lowest dimming level, with the modulation frequency, rather than a "flicker-free" label alone. [4]
Give the supplier the room type and size, ceiling height, lumens or wattage, CCT (fixed or selectable), CRI, diameter or size, humid-area rating, dimming and control method (wall switch, remote, app, voice), supply voltage, certifications and packaging.
02
Fansen lists anti-fog ceiling lights for bathrooms, kitchens and other humid areas with a sealed structure that reduces entry of moisture, insects and dust, and IP44 moisture-resistant options, with other protection levels confirmed by model. [2]
It lists smart full-spectrum ceiling lights controllable by app, remote, voice assistant or wall switch, with adjustable brightness and colour temperature. The certified Aosclex record likewise lists continuous dimming and tunable white light. [2] [1]
03
The Ecodesign for Energy-Related Products and Energy Information (Lighting Products) Regulations 2021 (UK SI 2021/1095) apply in England, Wales and Scotland to light sources and separate control gears placed on the market from 1 October 2021, including those placed on the market in a containing product such as a ceiling luminaire (regulation 3). Regulation 6 requires makers and importers of containing products to ensure the light source and control gear can be replaced with “commonly available tools” without permanently damaging the luminaire, unless a technical justification is given in the technical documentation, and that they can be removed for market-surveillance testing. [3]
Schedule 3 also caps the light source's on-mode power by formula from its useful flux, CRI and type, with threshold efficacy η = 120 lm/W for light sources not listed elsewhere. [3] Compare these GB rules with the US-certified record and the supplier's humid-room options above. [1] [2]
Editorial calculation: the certified 1,480 lm, 18.0 W, CRI 88 fixture above runs at 82.2 lm/W. Treating its LED module as a non-directional mains light source (C = 1.08, L = 1.5 W, R = (88 + 80)/160 = 1.05), the Schedule 3 cap would be about 1.08 × (1.5 + 1,480/120) × 1.05 ≈ 15.7 W, below its 18.0 W input; the module's own Pon, not the fixture input, is what the rule tests, so ask for it.
| Requirement (SI 2021/1095) | What it means for a ceiling light |
|---|---|
| Regulation 3 | Built-in LED light source and driver are covered when the luminaire is placed on the market |
| Regulation 6(1)–(2) | Light source and driver replaceable with “commonly available tools”, or technical justification documented |
| Regulation 6(4)–(5) | Replaceability by end users or professional repairers stated on a free public website, and on packaging (pictogram) and in instructions for consumer sales |
| Regulation 6(6) | Light source and driver can be dismantled at end of life; instructions on a free public website |
| Schedule 3, Table 5 | CRI ≥ 80; Pst LM ≤ 1.0; SVM ≤ 0.4 from 1 September 2024; six-step MacAdam colour consistency |
| Schedule 3, para 1 | Standby and networked standby power each ≤ 0.5 W |
For Great Britain, ask whether the LED module and driver are replaceable, for the replaceability statement and pictogram, and for the light source's declared Pon, CRI, Pst LM and SVM.
04
The supplier linked to this page lists LED ceiling lights; its card links to the page reviewed.
Ask any supplier for measured lumens and efficacy, CCT and CRI test data, flicker data, power factor, IP rating for humid rooms, dimming and smart-control compatibility, dimensions and weight, rated life, and certifications for the target market.
05
This is a functional reference built from the sources cited; it is not one maker's specification.
| Part | Role | Fix in the order |
|---|---|---|
| LED board | Produces the light. [1] [2] | Lumens; CCT; CRI. |
| Driver and controls | Power, dimming, smart control. [1] [2] | PF; dimming; app/remote. |
| Diffuser | Spreads light, hides LEDs. [2] | Shape; size. |
| Housing and seal | Mounts and keeps moisture out. [2] | IP44; material. |
| Mounting | Fixes to the ceiling. [2] | Surface mount; size. |
06
An LED ceiling light quotation needs values for your rooms. The table explains each field, gives published values where a reviewed source states them, and says what to obtain from the supplier.
| Field | What it means and published values | Ask the supplier for |
|---|---|---|
| Luminous Flux (lumens) | e.g. 1,480 lm. [1] | Measured lumens. |
| Power Consumption (watts) | e.g. 18 W. [1] | Wattage. |
| Color Temperature (kelvin) | e.g. 2700–5000 K selectable. [1] | CCT. |
| Color Rendering Index (Ra) | e.g. 88; full-spectrum options. [1] [2] | CRI; R9. |
| Beam Angle (degrees) | Not stated in the reviewed sources. | Distribution. |
| Input Voltage (volts) | Not stated in the reviewed sources. | Voltage. |
| Operating Temperature (°C) | Not stated in the reviewed sources. | Range. |
| Ingress Protection | e.g. IP44 for humid rooms; damp-location rated. [2] [1] | Rating. |
| Housing Material | Not stated in the reviewed sources. | Material. |
| Weight (kg) | Not stated in the reviewed sources. | Weight. |
| Dimensions (mm) | Sizes by model, round and square. [2] | Diameter; height. |
| Lifespan (h) | e.g. 72,000 h. [1] | Life basis. |
| Replaceable light source and driver | GB: replaceable with “commonly available tools” unless technically justified; statement on website, packaging and instructions (SI 2021/1095 reg. 6). [3] | Replaceability statement; removal instructions. |
07
Paste it into your enquiry below or into an email to a maker, then replace every bracket.
Room: [type; size; ceiling height; humid?] Light: [lumens or W; CCT; CRI] Fixture: [round or square; diameter; slim] Protection: [IP44; damp-rated] Control: [wall switch; remote; app; voice; dimming] Certificates: [ENERGY STAR; CE; UL]
This company lists LED ceiling lights.
Lists full-spectrum, smart, ultra-thin and anti-fog LED ceiling lights.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Explore company information and manufacturing capabilities, then discuss the scope of your project with a relevant supplier.
The ENERGY STAR-certified Aosclex surface-mounted ceiling light lists 1,480 lm at 18 W, or 82.2 lm/W. [1]
Fansen lists anti-fog ceiling lights with a sealed structure and IP44 options for bathrooms, kitchens and humid areas. [2]
Yes; the certified Aosclex light offers five CCTs from 2700 K to 5000 K, and Fansen's smart models adjust colour temperature by app or remote. [1] [2]
In Great Britain, UK SI 2021/1095 regulation 6 requires the light source and control gear in a containing product to be replaceable with “commonly available tools”, unless a technical justification is documented, and replaceability must be stated publicly. [3]
A 2024 UKHSA-led study used the IEEE 2015 recommendations: physiological percent flicker of 3% for low risk and 1% for no observable effect above 90 Hz; only 4 of 16 classroom luminaires it measured met 3% or better. [4]
Sources checked 2026-10-12. ENERGY STAR publishes certified fixture data; Fansen Lighting makes LED ceiling lights. A 2024 study led by the UK Health Security Agency reports measured flicker of installed luminaires against IEEE recommendations.
Ask for use case, specification boundaries, supplier type, and RFQ preparation information for this product.
Compare manufacturer profiles with relevant product and process capability.