LED track light head · Track system and adapter (H, J, L; single, two or three circuit), line or low voltage, wattage and efficacy, beam options, CCT and CRI, dimming
An LED track light is an adjustable lighting head that clips into an electrified track and can be moved and aimed along it. Ask three things first: which track system and circuit layout the heads must fit, what output, beam and colour quality the display or task needs, and what voltage and dimming the installation uses.
LED track light heads for line-voltage and low-voltage tracks, including adapter types, for retail, gallery, hospitality and office lighting. The track rails themselves, magnetic low-voltage track systems as a separate family, recessed downlights (see LED downlights) and spotlights for fixed mounting are outside this page except where compared.
Start with your task
01
Super Bright LEDs distinguishes Halo-compatible H, Juno-compatible J and Lightolier-compatible L tracks by contact layout and matching connector geometry. Its article describes three contact points for H and two for J and L, with different layouts; it warns that connector dimensions and locking mechanisms still need checking across brands. Confirm the head’s approved rail system and adapter rather than selecting by appearance alone. [1]
The same article notes line-voltage tracks run at the standard 120 V supply while low-voltage systems run at 12 V or 24 V through a transformer that must cover the heads' load; single-circuit heads work only on single-circuit tracks unless adapted, and double-circuit heads on a single-circuit track work on one circuit only. [1]
Obals lists its JG-TR8024 head with a '4 wire with 3 circuit' adapter. [2]
Give the supplier the track brand and type (H, J, L or 3-circuit), circuits and voltage, number of heads, wattage or lumens, beam angles, CCT and CRI, dimming protocol, housing colour, glare control accessories and certifications.
02
Obals lists its JG-TR8024-CXXW track head at 35 W maximum, Ø79 × 161 × 230 mm, Philips integrated driver and Bridgelux LEDs, 105 lm/W with lens or 65 lm/W with reflector, CRI 90, 3000 K and 5700 K, beam options of 15°, 24°, 36° and 50° with lens (24° and 36° with reflector), IP20 and a 3-year warranty. [2]
Lightstec’s TL01 page lists 25, 35 and 45 W variants, a summary luminous-flux value of 2,500 lm and CRI Ra ≥80. The page does not pair the summary flux with a particular wattage variant. Its model table lists Bridgelux and includes Osram among driver choices; confirm the chip/driver combination for the ordered variant. Dimming options listed include 0–10 V, DALI, triac and Tuya. [3]
Editorial calculation: assuming the Obals listed efficacies apply at the same 35 W electrical input, with the specified lens or reflector respectively, 35 × 105 = 3,675 lm and 35 × 65 = 2,275 lm; the ratio 105 ÷ 65 − 1 gives approximately 61.5% greater calculated flux for the lens configuration. These are conditional calculations, not manufacturer-published lumen measurements or measured operating data. Request photometry for each ordered optic and power setting. [2]
The Obals feature column labels both configurations “3CCT”, while the same table’s CCT cells list only 3000 K and 5700 K. Confirm the available CCT settings with Obals; no third value is supplied in that table. [2]
03
ERCO's July 2017 press release on its track spotlight programme shows how one maker structures a range so heads can be mixed on the same track. It describes rotationally symmetric distributions from narrow spot through spot, flood and wide flood to extra wide flood, plus an oval flood and an asymmetric wallwash distribution, seven in all, and states that narrow spot has the identical beam angle in every spotlight family. The extra wide flood, offered from January 2017, has a beam angle above 80° for ambient lighting from track. LEDs are offered in 4000 K and 3000 K. Lumen packages are tied to head size, with two additional packages per size: a 3-LED spotlight at 8 W and 551 lm is also offered at 12 W and 740 lm. In that release, ERCO describes its spotlight programme as DALI-controllable, potentiometer and phase dimmable as well as switchable, dimming from 100% to 0.1%. [4]
Editorial calculation: assuming the paired lumen packages and connected loads in ERCO’s July 2017 release describe the same declared operating conditions, 551 ÷ 8 ≈ 68.9 lm/W and 740 ÷ 12 ≈ 61.7 lm/W. The listed lumen increase is (740 ÷ 551 − 1) × 100 ≈ 34.3%, with a connected-load increase of (12 ÷ 8 − 1) × 100 = 50%. These are calculations from that historical programme, not measured operating data or a current catalogue guarantee. [4]
For a mixed order, ask each supplier whether a named beam (for example "spot") has the same angle across head sizes, which lumen packages each size offers, and the dimming protocols and lowest dimming level supported, and check that every head uses an adapter for your track type. [4] [1]
| System item | ERCO published value | Ask your supplier for |
|---|---|---|
| Light distributions | Seven: narrow spot to extra wide flood, oval flood, wallwash. [4] | Beam angle in degrees per optic and size. |
| Widest beam | Extra wide flood above 80°. [4] | Widest beam available; glare control. |
| Lumen packages | 3-LED head: 551 lm at 8 W or 740 lm at 12 W. [4] | Lumens and watts per package. |
| Colour temperature | 4000 K and 3000 K. [4] | CCT options and tolerance. |
| Dimming | DALI, potentiometer, phase; 100% to 0.1%. [4] | Protocol and minimum dim level. |
04
Ask any supplier for the adapter type and track compatibility, measured lumens and efficacy per beam option, CCT and CRI test data, beam and glare accessories, driver brand and dimming protocol, power factor, IP rating, rated life, dimensions and certifications for your market.
05
06
| Field | What it means and published values | Ask the supplier for |
|---|---|---|
| Wattage (W) | e.g. 25, 35, 45 W. [3] [2] | Wattage. |
| Luminous Flux (lm) | Lightstec page summary: 2,500 lm, without assigning that flux to a listed wattage variant. [3] | Measured lumens. |
| Color Temperature (K) | e.g. 3000 K, 5700 K. [2] | CCT. |
| Beam Angle (degrees) | e.g. 15°, 24°, 36°, 50°. [2] | Options. |
| CRI (Ra) | e.g. 90; ≥80. [2] [3] | CRI; R9. |
| Input Voltage (V) | Line 120 V or low-voltage 12/24 V tracks. [1] | Voltage. |
| Track Type | H, J, L; single, two or three circuit. [1] [2] | Adapter. |
| IP Rating | e.g. IP20. [2] | Rating. |
| Operating Temperature (°C) | Not stated in the reviewed sources. | Range. |
| Power Factor | Not stated in the reviewed sources. | PF. |
| Lifespan (h) | Not stated in the reviewed sources. | Life basis. |
| Certifications | Obals states its head can pass CE, SAA and RoHS. [2] | Certificates. |
07
Paste it into your enquiry below or into an email to a maker, then replace every bracket.
Track: [H; J; L; 3-circuit; brand] Voltage: [line; 12/24 V] Head: [W; lumens; beam] Colour: [CCT; CRI] Dimming: [0–10 V; DALI; triac] Quantity and colour: [pieces; housing colour]
5 companies list this product among what they make. Company figures are quoted from each company's own website; every card states where the relationship came from.
Lists LED track lights and magnetic track lights.
Product scope checked 2026-10-16
Lists adjustable LED track lights.
Product scope checked 2026-10-16
Lists LED and magnetic track lighting.
Product scope checked 2026-10-16
Lists LED track lighting.
Product scope checked 2026-10-16
Lists LED track lights.
Product scope checked 2026-10-16
Explore company information and manufacturing capabilities, then discuss the scope of your project with a relevant supplier.
No; Super Bright LEDs says they differ in contact layout and are not universally interchangeable without adapters. [1]
Super Bright LEDs says single-circuit heads work only on single-circuit track unless adapters are used. [1]
Lightstec’s TL01 page lists 25, 35 and 45 W variants and a summary flux of 2,500 lm without specifying which wattage it belongs to. Obals lists 105 lm/W for its lens configuration and a maximum wattage of 35 W; obtain the ordered configuration’s photometry. [3] [2]
ERCO’s July 2017 spotlight-programme release lists DALI, potentiometer and phase dimming from 100% to 0.1%. Check the current ordered model’s protocol and minimum dimming level. [4]
Sources checked 2026-10-11. Super Bright LEDs publishes track compatibility guidance; Obals and Lightstec make LED track lights; an ERCO press release describes how its track spotlight range is structured by distribution, lumen package and dimming.
Ask for use case, specification boundaries, supplier type, and RFQ preparation information for this product.
Compare manufacturer profiles with relevant product and process capability.