Electrostatic powder spray guns, manual and automatic · output voltage (kV) and current (µA), powder output g/min, transfer efficiency, air pressure, gun weight, grounding, trigger interlock and ventilation rules (OSHA 1910.107), approved equipment
An electrostatic spray gun electrostatically charges coating powder (or paint) as it is sprayed onto a grounded workpiece. It is used by hand or on automatic reciprocators in powder-coating lines for metal parts, aluminium extrusions and appliances. Ask three things first: the voltage and current range and how the gun controls them for flat parts and recesses; the powder output and transfer efficiency the maker can show; and whether the gun and control unit are approved for the spray area and installed with the grounding and interlocks the rules require.
Electrostatic powder spray guns — manual and automatic, with control units and powder feed (hopper or box feed). Complete powder-coating systems and booths (separate pages), air and HVLP liquid spray guns, airless sprayers and spray nozzles are outside this page except where compared.
Start with your task
01
Foshan Debelle, a powder-coating equipment maker, publishes ratings for two manual electrostatic powder guns. Its E7 runs on AC 220 V at 50 W with a 19 kHz generator and a fixed 85 kV output, quotes 80% powder transfer efficiency and up to 500 g/min powder output on flat parts, needs at least 6 kg/cm² air, adjusts current and voltage automatically with distance to the workpiece, and weighs 385 g. [2] Its F1 uses digital control on AC 220 V at 35 W with a 29 kHz generator, 0–100 kV and 0–100 µA output, 85% transfer efficiency, up to 500 g/min and the same 6 kg/cm² minimum air pressure. [3]
Editorial calculation: at 500 g/min and 85% transfer efficiency about 425 g/min lands on the part and about 75 g/min becomes overspray — some 4.5 kg per hour of continuous spraying that the booth must capture and recover; at 80% the overspray is about 100 g/min. [2] [3]
Editorial note: transfer-efficiency figures are the maker's claims and depend on part shape, powder and settings; ask for the test conditions and, if possible, a trial on your parts.
Give the supplier the coating (powder type, particle size; or liquid), the parts (size, shape, recesses, line speed), manual or automatic guns and how many, required kV and µA range and control modes, powder output and feed (hopper, box feed, colour change), air supply, mains supply, cable and hose lengths, nozzles, explosion-protection approval for the spray area, spare parts, and quantity.
02
In the United States, 29 CFR 1910.107 covers electrostatic hand-spraying equipment — any hand-held device using electrostatically charged elements to atomise or deposit coatings — and applies those provisions to electrostatic handguns used in powder coating. The equipment must be of approved types (listed by a nationally recognised testing laboratory). High-voltage circuits must not produce a spark able to ignite vapour-air mixtures or cause appreciable shock on contact with a grounded object in normal operation, and the gun's charged elements may be energised only by a switch that also controls the coating supply. Power packs and controls other than the gun and its connections must sit outside the spraying area or meet its electrical rules; the gun handle must be grounded so the operator is in contact with it; all conductive objects in the area must be grounded, with a permanent warning on the equipment; workpieces must stay in metallic contact with grounded hooks or conveyors; and the electrical equipment must be interlocked so it cannot run unless the ventilation fans are running. [1]
For powder coating, the same section requires exhaust ventilation that keeps the atmosphere below the lowest explosive limit, removal of airborne powder to a recovery cyclone or receptacle with no release outdoors, areas kept free of powder accumulation, cleaning that avoids dust clouds, and prominent no-smoking signs. [1] Debelle states CE and ATEX certifications for its products; ask any supplier for the certificate covering the specific gun and control unit. [2]
03
Gema Switzerland, a powder-coating equipment maker, publishes figures for its manual equipment. Its "OptiSelect® Pro" and "OptiSelect® ProX" manual guns use PowerBoost technology which, in Gema's words, "offers with the 110 kV the highest powder charging capacity in the powder coating industry while complying with safety regulations". Its entry-level "OptiFlex® Go" gives a charging performance of 100 kV, injector powder output of up to 400 g/min and a 40 liter powder hopper. [4] [6] [5]
Gema states that its optional SuperCorona "collects and neutralizes the free ions reducing the orange peel effect" where thicker coatings and high-quality surfaces are required, and that the DVC technology on the ProX gives reproducible powder output regulation for film thickness consistency. [6] These are functions to ask about alongside the kV figure, because a higher maximum voltage alone does not say how the gun limits current near the part.
OSHA's 29 CFR 1910.107 requires electrostatic hand spray apparatus to be of approved types, with high voltage circuits designed "so as to not produce a spark of sufficient intensity to ignite any vapor-air mixtures nor result in appreciable shock hazard" on contact with a grounded object [1]. Gema says its 110 kV setting complies with safety regulations [4]; ask which approval or certificate covers the gun and control unit you are buying, for the hazardous-area classification of your booth.
Editorial calculation: 600 g/min is 36 kg of powder an hour and 400 g/min is 24 kg an hour at full output; 110 kV is about 29% above the 85 kV fixed output of Debelle's E7. [5] [2]
| Item | Gema OptiFlex® Go | Gema OptiSelect® Pro / OptiFlex® Pro | Debelle E7 / F1 (already cited) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Charging voltage | 100 kV | 110 kV (PowerBoost) | 85 kV fixed (E7); 0–100 kV (F1) |
| Powder output | Up to 400 g/min (injector) | Up to 600 g/min with OptiSpray® AP02 application pumps | Up to 500 g/min |
| Hopper | 40 liter | 50 l | — |
| Colour change | — | 35 seconds (OptiFlex® Pro Q) | — |
| Other functions named | — | SuperCorona; PowerClean purge; DVC output regulation (ProX) | Automatic current and voltage adjustment (E7) |
Values are from Gema product pages; the operating manuals were not reviewed.
04
Suppliers linked to this page list electrostatic powder spray guns; each card links to the page reviewed.
Listings include lightweight and digitally controlled manual powder guns, automatic guns on reciprocators, vibratory box-feed units and complete powder-coating equipment; ask each for kV and µA ranges, transfer-efficiency test conditions and approval certificates.
05
This is a functional reference built from the sources cited; it is not one maker's design.
| Element | Role | Fix in the order |
|---|---|---|
| Gun and electrode | Charges powder; handle grounded. [1] | Model, weight. |
| High-voltage generator | 19–29 kHz; up to 100 kV. [2] [3] | kV, µA range. |
| Control unit | Outside spray area or compliant. [1] | Location, modes. |
| Powder feed and air | ≥6 kg/cm² air; ≤500 g/min. [3] | Feed type, air. |
| Interlocks | Trigger and ventilation. [1] | Interlock wiring. |
06
An electrostatic spray gun quotation needs values for your project. The table explains each field, gives published values where a reviewed source states them, and says what to obtain from the supplier.
| Field | What it means and published values | Ask the supplier for |
|---|---|---|
| Powder output (g/min) | Up to 400–600 g/min examples. [2] [3] [5] | Range, test. |
| Charging voltage (kV) | 85 kV fixed; 0–100 kV adjustable [2] [3]; 100 kV and 110 kV. [5] [4] | Range, modes. |
| Charging current (µA) | 0–100 µA example. [3] | Limit settings. |
| Air consumption | Minimum 6 kg/cm² air pressure. [2] | Flow, pressure. |
| Powder particle size | Not stated in reviewed sources. | Recommended range. |
| Operating temperature (°C) | Not stated in reviewed sources. | Range. |
| Relative humidity | Not stated in reviewed sources. | Limits. |
| Ingress protection | Not stated in reviewed sources. | Approval for area. |
| Weight (g) | 385 g gun example. [2] | Gun weight. |
| Cable length (m) | Not stated in reviewed sources. | Cable, hose lengths. |
| Supply voltage (V) | AC 220 V; 35–50 W. [2] [3] | Mains. |
07
Paste it into your enquiry below or into an email to a maker, then replace every bracket.
Coating: [powder type; particle size] Parts: [size; recesses; line speed] Guns: [manual; automatic; count] Charging: [kV; µA; modes] Feed: [hopper; box feed; colour change] Safety: [approval; grounding; interlocks] Quantity: [guns; control units]
These companies list electrostatic powder spray guns.
Lists manual and automatic electrostatic powder spray guns, reciprocators and box-feed systems.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Describes itself as a designer and maker of powder coating equipment.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Explore company information and manufacturing capabilities, then discuss the scope of your project with a relevant supplier.
One maker lists a fixed 85 kV manual gun and a 0–100 kV, 0–100 µA digitally controlled gun. [2] [3]
Yes. OSHA 1910.107 requires the gun handle to be grounded by a metallic connection, with the operator in contact with it. [1]
No. The electrical equipment must be interlocked so it cannot operate unless the ventilation fans are running. [1]
Sources checked 2026-10-12. 29 CFR 1910.107 is a US workplace-safety regulation. Debelle is a gun maker that also appears as a supplier on this page.
Ask for use case, specification boundaries, supplier type, and RFQ preparation information for this product.
Compare manufacturer profiles with relevant product and process capability.