Networked speakers that play in sync across rooms · Wi-Fi and Bluetooth links, network requirements, grouping and stereo pairs, drivers and class-D amplifiers, room tuning, battery portables and IP rating, broadcast audio
A wireless multi-room audio speaker system is a set of powered speakers, each with its own amplifiers, drivers, processor and radio, that join a home or building network so the same or different audio can be played in two or more rooms in sync and controlled from one app. Ask three things first: what network and streaming protocols the speakers must use, how many speakers and rooms the system must hold and how they will be grouped or paired, and which units must run on battery or outdoors.
Networked powered speakers sold as a multi-room system: hub or main speakers, satellite and portable units, and the wireless and control features that link them. Passive speakers with separate amplifiers, wired distributed-audio installations, soundbars sold alone, and headphones are outside this page except where compared.
01
Sonos's system requirements allow up to 32 products in one system and need an iOS or Android device for set-up, a high-speed wired internet connection, and the app and every product on the same subnet. All its products connect to routers or access points supporting 802.11b/g on 2.4 GHz with WPA1 or WPA2 Personal security. It lists as unsupported: satellite, hotspot or LTE internet, guest networks or captive-portal logins, wireless range extenders, routers that only provide 5 GHz, Ethernet over power, and VPNs that block local resources; it recommends a mesh router to extend coverage and, in wired set-ups, wiring to the primary mesh node. [1]
Its Era 100 speaker connects to 802.11a/b/g/n/ac/ax routers on 2.4 or 5 GHz and is Wi-Fi 6 compatible, streams from any Bluetooth device over Bluetooth 5.3, works with AirPlay 2 from Apple devices on iOS 11.4 or later, and takes line-in audio or wired Ethernet through USB-C adapters sold separately. Two identical speakers can be paired in one room as a stereo pair. [2]
Bluetooth's Auracast broadcast audio, described by the Bluetooth SIG as a new Bluetooth capability, sends audio from a single transmitter to an unlimited number of receivers without pairing, which suits shared listening in public venues and assistive listening rather than synchronised home zones. [4]
Give the supplier the network (router make, bands, mesh or extenders, VLANs and subnets), the number of rooms and speakers, grouping and stereo or surround pairing needed, streaming protocols and services required (Wi-Fi app, AirPlay 2, Bluetooth, line-in), control app and voice assistant, and any public-venue or broadcast use.
02
The Era 100 is a mains-powered bookshelf speaker with three class-D amplifiers, two angled tweeters and one midwoofer, a far-field microphone array with a hardware mic switch, app-adjustable bass, treble and loudness, room-tuning software (Trueplay) that measures the room and adjusts EQ, a quad-core 1.9 GHz processor, a 100–240 V 50/60 Hz internal supply, and a size of 182.5 × 120 × 130.5 mm at 2.02 kg. [2]
The Move 2 portable has the same amplifier and driver complement, an IP56 rating against dust and high-pressure water jets, a removable and replaceable 3,100 mAh lithium-ion battery giving up to 24 hours of continuous playback, a charging base, Bluetooth grouping of two or more of its portable speakers away from Wi-Fi, and a size of 241 mm high by 160 mm wide at 3 kg. [3]
Editorial note: the reviewed product pages do not state output power, frequency response or signal-to-noise ratio; ask the supplier for measured figures and the test conditions if those values are needed for comparison.
For each room, state the room size and use, mains or battery, indoor or outdoor and IP rating, mounting, colour and finish, and whether the speaker must also serve as a stereo pair, surround or subwoofer partner.
03
| Unit | Role | Points to compare |
|---|---|---|
| Mains-powered room speaker | Main playback unit in a room. [2] | Drivers, amplifiers, inputs, tuning. |
| Portable battery speaker | Indoor and outdoor use, Bluetooth away from Wi-Fi. [3] | Battery, IP rating, weight. |
| Stereo pair | Two identical units in one room. [2] | Pairing rules, placement. |
| Broadcast receiver or transmitter | One transmitter to unlimited receivers, no pairing. [4] | LE Audio support. |
04
The Era 100 pairs three class-D amplifiers with two angled tweeters and one midwoofer, and the Move 2 keeps the same complement but adds a removable 3,100 mAh battery. [2] [3]
| Part | Role | Fix in the order |
|---|---|---|
| Tweeters and midwoofer | Reproduce high and mid-to-bass frequencies. [2] | Driver count and size. |
| Class-D amplifiers | Drive each driver. [2] | Number and rating. |
| Wi-Fi and Bluetooth radios | Network streaming and direct streaming. [2] [1] | Bands, standards, versions. |
| Processor and software | Sync, grouping, EQ, room tuning. [2] | Update policy, app. |
| Microphones | Voice control and room tuning. [2] | Mic switch, assistants. |
| Battery and charger | Portable operation. [3] | Capacity, runtime, replaceability. |
| Power supply | Mains input. [2] | Voltage range. |
05
Four audio figures a buyer may want — output power, frequency response, signal-to-noise ratio and operating temperature — are not on the reviewed product pages, so ask for measured values with their test conditions.
| Field | What it means and published values | Ask the supplier for |
|---|---|---|
| Total audio output power | Not stated on the reviewed pages. | Rated power and test method. |
| Frequency response range | Not stated on the reviewed pages. | Response with tolerance. |
| Wireless transmission range | Not stated; network rules apply (2.4 GHz support, no extenders). [1] | Coverage guidance. |
| Maximum speaker units | Up to 32 products in one system. [1] | System limit. |
| Battery capacity | 3,100 mAh Li-ion, up to 24 h playback. [3] | Capacity and runtime conditions. |
| Signal-to-noise ratio | Not stated on the reviewed pages. | Measured SNR. |
| Operating temperature range | Not stated on the reviewed pages. | Operating range. |
| Ingress protection rating | IP56 on one portable. [3] | IP rating per unit. |
| Power supply voltage | 100–240 V 50/60 Hz internal supply. [2] | Input range and plug. |
| Audio input impedance | Not stated; line-in via adapter. [2] | Line-in level and impedance. |
| Dimensions (W x H x D) | 120 × 182.5 × 130.5 mm; 160 mm wide × 241 mm high. [2] [3] | Size per unit. |
| Weight per unit | 2.02 kg; 3 kg. [2] [3] | Weight per unit. |
06
Paste it into your enquiry below or into an email to a maker, then replace every bracket.
Network: [router; bands; mesh; subnets] System: [rooms; speakers per room; grouping; stereo pairs] Streaming: [app; AirPlay 2; Bluetooth; line-in] Units: [mains or battery; IP rating; finish] Control: [app; voice] Supply: [quantity; certification; warranty]
1 company lists this product among what they make. Company figures are quoted from each company's own website; every card states where the relationship came from.
Its website lists the ES300 tabletop wireless speaker, which can be grouped into a multi-room system.
Product scope checked 2026-10-12
Explore company information and manufacturing capabilities, then discuss the scope of your project with a relevant supplier.
Sonos documents up to 32 products in a single system. [1]
Sonos lists 5 GHz-only routers and wireless range extenders as unsupported and recommends a mesh router instead. [1]
One portable lists a 3,100 mAh battery giving up to 24 hours of continuous playback. [3]
Auracast broadcasts one stream from a transmitter to unlimited receivers without pairing; it targets shared and assistive listening. [4]
Sources checked 2026-10-11. The Sonos pages describe one maker's speakers and network requirements; the Bluetooth SIG page describes a broadcast capability. Values for your order must come from the supplier offered.
Ask for use case, specification boundaries, supplier type, and RFQ preparation information for this product.
Compare manufacturer profiles with relevant product and process capability.