RFID reader (interrogator) · Frequency band (LF, HF/NFC, UHF), regional UHF plan, EPC Gen2 protocol, fixed or handheld, antenna ports, read rate, power
An RFID reader transmits radio energy through an antenna, powers or wakes RFID tags in its field, and decodes their replies. Ask three things first: which frequency band and regional plan the tags and country require, whether a fixed reader with external antennas or a handheld suits the read zone, and what read rate, interfaces and power the installation needs.
RFID readers and reader-writers for LF, HF/NFC and UHF tags: fixed, handheld and integrated-antenna types. RFID tags and labels, stand-alone antennas, access-control locks and EV chargers that merely include a card reader are outside this page.
01
atlasRFIDstore describes a reader that amplifies energy, modulates it with data and sends it through a cable to an antenna; a passive tag in the field absorbs that energy, activates its chip and returns its data. Its guide compares LF at 125–134 kHz (contact to about 10 cm; animal tracking, access control, near liquids and metal), HF/NFC at 13.56 MHz (near contact to about 30 cm; ID cards, ticketing, NFC) and UHF at 860–960 MHz (“Several feet to 10+ meters”; fast multi-tag reads), noting actual range depends on tag, reader power, antenna, placement and environment. [1]
The same guide notes UHF passive equipment is built for regional plans: 865–868 MHz under ETSI in Europe and 902–928 MHz under the FCC in North America, with other countries adopting one or a subset, such as Argentina at 902–928 MHz and Armenia at 865.6–867.6 MHz. [1]
GS1's EPC Gen2 air interface protocol, first published by EPCglobal in 2004, defines the physical and logical requirements for interrogators and passive tags operating at 860–930 MHz; Gen2v2 (2013) added data security and privacy features, and Gen2v3 adds inventory commands with tag selection while keeping all Gen2v2 features. [2]
Give the supplier the tag type and protocol, band and country of use, read range and zone size, number of tags and their speed, fixed or handheld use, antenna count and polarisation, host interface and software, power source, environment and ingress needs, and certifications required.
02
atlasRFIDstore describes fixed readers mounted at walls, portals or desks supporting 1–64 external antennas with multiplexers, handheld or sled readers running on battery with Wi-Fi or Bluetooth, and integrated readers combining reader and antenna; it explains circular polarisation tolerates varied tag orientation at a slightly shorter range than linear. [1]
Impinj lists its R700 RAIN RFID reader at up to 1,300+ tags per second with 64-bit edge processing, USB flash drive and Wi-Fi adapter support, and up to 32 antennas through antenna hubs, with Gen2X features to increase read range and speed inventory. [3]
Zebra states its FX9600 fixed reader can be powered by PoE or PoE+, and that with PoE+ or a 24 V supply long cable runs do not reduce available RF power; it is offered in four-port (FX9600-4) and eight-port (FX9600-8) models for dock doors and portals, built for damp, dusty, hot and sub-zero areas. [4]
Editorial calculation: at a 1,300 tags/s read rate, reading 500 tags in a pallet takes about 0.4 s of reader time before RF and placement effects. [3]
03
The suppliers linked to this page list RFID readers or reader-writers; their cards link to the pages reviewed.
Ask any supplier for the band and regional variant, protocol support, transmit power range and receive sensitivity, read rate, number of antenna ports and connector type, host interfaces, SDK and software, power input, operating and storage temperature, ingress rating, dimensions, weight and radio certifications.
04
This is a functional reference built from the sources cited; it is not one maker's specification.
| Part | Role | Fix in the order |
|---|---|---|
| RF transceiver | Modulates and decodes signals. [1] | Band; power. |
| Antenna (integrated or external) | Radiates and receives the field. [1] [3] | Ports; gain; polarisation. |
| Processor and memory | Runs protocol and edge apps. [3] [4] | Protocol; apps. |
| Host interface | Delivers data. [1] [3] | Ethernet; USB; Wi-Fi; Bluetooth. |
| Power input | Supplies the reader. [4] [1] | PoE; 24 V; battery. |
05
An RFID reader quotation needs values for your read zone. The table explains each field, gives published values where a reviewed source states them, and says what to obtain from the supplier.
| Field | What it means and published values | Ask the supplier for |
|---|---|---|
| Operating Frequency (MHz) | 0.125–0.134 (LF); 13.56 (HF); 865–868 or 902–928 (UHF). [1] | Band; region. |
| Read Range (meters) | ~0.1 (LF); ~0.3 (HF); to 10+ (UHF), set by tag and setup. [1] | Range with your tag. |
| Read Rate (tags/second) | e.g. up to 1,300+ (R700). [3] | Rate in your scene. |
| Interface Type | e.g. Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, USB. [1] [3] | Host interfaces. |
| Power Supply (V/DC) | e.g. PoE, PoE+ or 24 V. [4] | Input; consumption. |
| Operating Temperature (°C) | Not stated numerically in the reviewed sources. | Range. |
| Storage Temperature (°C) | Not stated in the reviewed sources. | Range. |
| Humidity (% RH) | Not stated in the reviewed sources. | Range. |
| IP Rating | Not stated in the reviewed sources. | Rating. |
| Dimensions (mm) | Not stated in the reviewed sources. | Drawing. |
| Weight (kg) | Not stated in the reviewed sources. | Weight. |
| Antenna Connector | e.g. 4 or 8 ports; up to 32 antennas via hubs. [4] [3] | Ports; connector. |
| Protocol Support | EPC Gen2 (v2, v3) for UHF passive tags. [2] | Protocols. |
06
Paste it into your enquiry below or into an email to a maker, then replace every bracket.
Tags: [type; protocol; band] Region: [ETSI; FCC; other] Zone: [range; tags per read; speed] Form: [fixed; handheld; integrated] Antennas: [ports; polarisation] Interfaces and power: [Ethernet; USB; Wi-Fi; PoE; 24 V]
These companies list RFID readers or reader-writers.
Lists UHF RFID readers, handhelds and fixed readers.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists UHF RFID readers alongside RFID tags.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists RFID readers alongside RFID tags.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists long-range UHF RFID readers for access control.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists RFID reader-writers.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists RFID reader-writers alongside POS peripherals.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists RFID readers alongside barcode scanners.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Explore company information and manufacturing capabilities, then discuss the scope of your project with a relevant supplier.
atlasRFIDstore's guide gives UHF at “Several feet to 10+ meters”, against about 30 cm for HF and about 10 cm for LF. [1]
The guide notes readers are built for ETSI 865–868 MHz or FCC 902–928 MHz plans; confirm the regional variant. [1]
GS1's EPC Gen2 protocol defines interrogators and passive tags at 860–930 MHz. [2]
Sources checked 2026-10-12. GS1 maintains the EPC Gen2 standard; Impinj and Zebra make RFID readers; atlasRFIDstore publishes an RFID selection guide.
Ask for use case, specification boundaries, supplier type, and RFQ preparation information for this product.
Compare manufacturer profiles with relevant product and process capability.