LED floodlights for outdoor and industrial areas · Efficacy in lm/W, lifetime as L80/B10, IP and IK ratings, corrosion class, beam types and optics, CCT and CRI, controls and glare
An LED flood light is a weatherproof luminaire that throws a controlled beam of light over a yard, façade, car park, sports area or work zone. Ask three things first: how many useful lumens per watt the luminaire delivers and on what lifetime basis, since that sets running cost and replacement interval; what beam pattern and glare control the site needs; and what ingress, impact and corrosion protection the location demands.
LED floodlights and area/flood luminaires for outdoor, industrial, sports and façade lighting, including high-mast and stadium floods. LED street and roadway lights, high-bay luminaires for indoor ceilings, LED modules and drivers sold alone are outside this page except where compared.
Start with your task
01
LEDVANCE's Floodlight Gen 4 family lists efficacy of up to 150 lm/W and a lifetime of 75,000 hours stated as L80/B10, protection up to IP66 and IK08, C4 corrosion resistance for environments with moderate salinity, a two-level lumen setting by dip switch before installation, a watertight cable gland, photocell versions with daylight sensor and sensor versions with automatic dimming, and a 5-year guarantee, for façades, public, industrial and construction areas and car parks. [1]
Cree Lighting's OSQ Series C area and flood luminaires, announced in 2023, reach DLC Premium-level efficacy of up to 171 lumens per watt, up to 16% higher than before, with up to 30% weight reduction for lower wind load; each LED has its own sculpted acrylic lens, increasing optical surface area by more than 50% to reduce glare, and the light engine is sealed to IP66 behind an IK07 impact-rated flat glass lens. [2]
Editorial calculation: at 150 lm/W a 100 W floodlight gives about 15,000 lm, and at 171 lm/W about 17,100 lm; 75,000 hours is about 17 years at 12 hours a night. [1] [2] Editorial note: ask every supplier to state lifetime on the same Lxx/Byy basis as LEDVANCE's L80/B10 so that figures can be compared.
Give the supplier the application and mounting height, target illuminance or lumens, beam type or NEMA distribution, CCT and CRI, efficacy and lifetime basis (Lxx/Byy), supply voltage and surge protection, controls (0-10V, DALI, photocell, sensor, NEMA 7-pin or Zhaga socket), IP and IK ratings, corrosion class, mounting bracket, glare or BUG limits, certifications (DLC, DarkSky), warranty and quantity.
02
Cree Lighting's flood range shows the options to specify: optics from narrow 15°, 25° and 40° spots to NEMA 3×3 through 7×5 flood distributions and Type II–IV area patterns, CCT from 1900 K and amber 'turtle' versions to 3000, 4000, 5000 and 5700 K, CRI options of at least 50, 70, 80 or 90, outputs up to 86,000 lumens, controls including 0-10V, DALI, Bluetooth multi-level sensors, NEMA 7-pin and Zhaga sockets, and listings such as DLC Standard, Premium or Luna, DarkSky approval, IP66 and wet-location ratings, with 5- or 10-year warranties. [3]
DOE warns that unnecessary, excess, misdirected and mistimed light at night wastes energy and disrupts ecosystems, says LED technology could cut light at night by as much as 80–90%, and points to the IES and IDA Five Principles for Responsible Outdoor Lighting: light only where necessary with optical control, use the minimum amount of light, use controls so light is on only when needed, and select colour temperature carefully. [4]
03
Suppliers linked to this page list LED flood lights; each card links to the page reviewed.
Listings include general IP65 floodlights from 50 to 300 W, high-mast, airport, harbour and stadium floodlights, sports-lighting floods and industrial floodlights; ask each for tested efficacy, lifetime basis, beam options, IP and IK ratings, surge protection and certifications.
04
This is a functional reference built from the sources cited; it is not one maker's specification.
| Element | Role | Fix in the order |
|---|---|---|
| LED light engine | Mid-power LEDs on board. [2] | LED type, CCT, CRI. |
| Optics and lens | Per-LED lenses; glass cover. [2] [3] | Beam type, glare. |
| Housing | Sealed IP66 enclosure, low wind load. [2] [1] | Material, corrosion class. |
| Driver and controls | Dimming, photocell or sensor. [1] [3] | Control protocol. |
| Cable gland and bracket | Watertight entry and mounting. [1] | Gland, bracket type. |
05
An LED flood light quotation needs values for your site. The table explains each field, gives published values where a reviewed source states them, and says what to obtain from the supplier.
| Field | What it means and published values | Ask the supplier for |
|---|---|---|
| Luminous flux (lumens) | Up to 86,000 lm (Cree flood range). [3] | Tested lumens. |
| Power consumption (watts) | Efficacy 150–171 lm/W in examples. [1] [2] | Input watts. |
| Beam angle (degrees) | 15°, 25°, 40°; NEMA 3×3–7×5. [3] | Distribution file. |
| Color temperature (kelvin) | 1900–5700 K. [3] | CCT. |
| CRI (index) | ≥50 to ≥90 options. [3] | CRI. |
| IP rating | IP66. [1] [2] | IP and IK. |
| Operating voltage (volts) | Not stated in reviewed sources. | Input range, surge rating. |
| Lifespan (hours) | 75,000 h at L80/B10 (LEDVANCE). [1] | Lxx/Byy basis. |
| Operating temperature (°C) | Not stated in reviewed sources. | Range. |
| Power factor | Not stated in reviewed sources. | Value. |
| Housing material | Corrosion class C4 (LEDVANCE). [1] | Material, finish. |
| Weight (kg) | Up to 30% lighter (OSQ C). [2] | Weight, wind area. |
06
Paste it into your enquiry below or into an email to a maker, then replace every bracket.
Site: [application; mounting height; area] Light: [lumens; beam/NEMA type; CCT; CRI] Efficiency: [lm/W; Lxx/Byy lifetime] Protection: [IP; IK; corrosion class; surge] Controls: [0-10V; DALI; photocell; sensor; socket] Compliance: [DLC; DarkSky; glare limits] Quantity: [units; warranty]
These companies list LED flood lights.
Lists IP65 LED floodlights from 50 to 300 W.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists LED flood light series.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists LED floodlights.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists LED flood lights with high-bay lights.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists LED floodlights and high-mast floodlights.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists high-mast, airport, harbour and stadium LED flood lights.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists LED flood lights.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists LED and HID industrial flood lights.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists industrial LED flood light series.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Explore company information and manufacturing capabilities, then discuss the scope of your project with a relevant supplier.
LEDVANCE lists up to 150 lm/W for its Floodlight Gen 4 and Cree Lighting up to 171 lm/W for its OSQ Series C. [1] [2]
LEDVANCE states 75,000 hours at L80/B10 for its Floodlight Gen 4; ask every supplier for the same basis to compare. [1]
DOE points to the Five Principles: aim light only where needed, use the minimum amount, control it in time, and choose colour temperature carefully. [4]
Sources checked 2026-10-11. LEDVANCE and Cree Lighting make floodlights and describe their own products; DOE's page is US government guidance on outdoor light at night.
Ask for use case, specification boundaries, supplier type, and RFQ preparation information for this product.
Compare manufacturer profiles with relevant product and process capability.