Electronic components · resistor selection
A BOM line reading “0603, 10 kΩ, 1%” leaves the power mode, temperature drift, termination finish and assembly requirements unresolved. Start with the circuit duty, then identify the exact series and ordering code.
For fixed surface-mount resistors on circuit boards. The worked reference is Vishay D/CRCW e3 thick film; specialist RF and high-temperature supplier examples have their own construction and limits. This is not a universal chip-resistor specification.
01
Vishay’s D/CRCW e3 datasheet, revision 14 April 2026, gives a larger dissipation figure on its first page than the standard-mode figure for some sizes. Page 2 explains the difference. An apparent upgrade in watts can also change the permitted long-term resistance change. Keep these columns together when comparing quotations. [1]
| D/CRCW e3 size | Standard operation at 70°C | Extended operation at 70°C |
|---|---|---|
| 0402 / D10 | 0.063 W; 50 V maximum operating voltage | 0.10 W; 75 V maximum operating voltage. [1] |
| 0603 / D11 | 0.10 W; 75 V maximum operating voltage | 0.125 W; 75 V maximum operating voltage. [1] |
| 0805 / D12 | 0.125 W; 150 V maximum operating voltage | 0.25 W; 150 V maximum operating voltage. [1] |
| Stability-class-1 comparison in the mode table | At the stated rated conditions: ≤1% change after 1,000 h; ≤2% after 8,000 h | ≤2% after 1,000 h; the 8,000 h cell is blank. That blank is not an 8,000 h guarantee. [1] |
Power in the resistance film raises its temperature above the local ambient. Vishay limits the film temperature to 155°C and makes permissible dissipation depend on the assembled part and PCB. The category temperature range is not permission to dissipate the full 70°C rating everywhere in that range. [1]
For a 0603 in standard mode, the published linear derating curve falls from 0.10 W at 70°C to zero at 155°C. At 100°C, interpolation gives 0.10 × (155 − 100) / (155 − 70) ≈ 0.0647 W. This is CNFX arithmetic from that curve, before checking the actual PCB thermal condition; it is not a measured board result. [1]
A ±1% purchase tolerance describes a different requirement from temperature coefficient and load-life drift. The same datasheet lists ±100 ppm/K and also a ±200 ppm/K option for low resistance values in its ±1% range. Specify the TCR code as well as the tolerance letter. Do not use the mode-table percentages as a replacement for the full acceptance test: the detailed test table also contains absolute resistance terms. [1]
02
For steady loading, U²/R is the dissipated power. The voltage implied by a power allowance is √(P × R), but it must still respect the selected series’ operating-voltage limit. Vishay’s endurance-test definition explicitly applies the less severe condition. The examples below use nominal resistance and 0.10 W standard-mode 0603 data at 70°C; a design must also account for tolerance, temperature and its required margin. [1]
| At 70°C in standard mode | Calculated limit and consequence |
|---|---|
| 100 Ω: power is the tighter check | √(0.10 × 100) ≈ 3.16 V, far below the 75 V element limit. Applying 75 V simply because it appears in the voltage column would imply 56.25 W. These are calculated values, not an approved operating point. [1] |
| 100 kΩ: voltage becomes the tighter check | √(0.10 × 100,000) = 100 V, but the same 0603 has a 75 V operating limit. At 75 V the nominal dissipation is 0.05625 W; the remaining wattage allowance does not authorize a higher voltage. [1] |
The datasheet supplies separate single-pulse power, repetitive-pulse power and pulse-voltage curves. Duration, peak level and repetition therefore belong on the enquiry. Its single-pulse curve is qualified by nearly zero average power and fewer than 1,000 pulses; do not transfer that curve to continuous switching. Ask the supplier to check the actual waveform against the applicable curves. [1]
Insulation voltage is another test quantity. It does not replace the voltage rating across the resistance element. The D/CRCW e3 table identifies it as voltage against the surroundings and gives a specified test duration. [1]
03
A chip resistor is purchased as a finished component. The table describes the functional layers and features of the named D/CRCW e3 construction, not separate pieces to order or a recipe shared by every SMD resistor. Current passes between the terminations through the resistance film; the ceramic and coatings support and protect that path. [1]
| Layer or feature | Function in the component | Material evidence and limit |
|---|---|---|
| Ceramic substrate | Supports the deposited film and prepared inner contacts. | Vishay specifies Al₂O₃ for D/CRCW e3. Do not substitute a different substrate merely because the outer size matches. [1] |
| Resistance film and trimmed geometry | Establishes resistance; laser trimming brings the film to the target value. | The datasheet identifies a cermet film without disclosing its full formulation. Confirm the element technology for the ordered series. [1] |
| Inner contacts and outer terminations | Connect the film to the PCB solder joints. | Prepared inner contacts are described without an alloy specification. The final termination is pure matte tin on nickel. [1] |
| Glass-over and protective coating | Protect the resistance element electrically, mechanically and environmentally. | The description distinguishes the glass-over from the protective coating. It does not disclose every coating formulation. [1] |
| Identification or marking, where used | Helps associate a physical part or reel with the ordered item. | Ink composition and the marking process are not specified in the cited construction text. Use the supplier’s marking drawing and reel label; this is an identification requirement, not a verified material layer. [1] |
In this family, the e3 designation means pure-tin termination finish. Vishay points separately to its lead-bearing D/CRCW family for applications requiring SnPb. Matching resistance and body dimensions is not enough to approve that substitution. [1]
Rongtech’s RT high-temperature sheet instead identifies PtAg terminations and discusses both conductive epoxy and soldering. Its operating-temperature range extends to 300°C, while its TCR is defined only from +25°C to +125°C; the plotted rated-power allowance falls to zero at 300°C. The temperature endpoint cannot be used as a full-power or full-range TCR promise. Obtain the underlying RHR/RHS/RHM series drawing before specifying an RT part. [4]
04
Vishay labels this example imperial 0603 / metric RR1608M, then supplies actual dimensions with tolerances. Specify the code system before choosing a footprint. The recommended pads also change with the soldering process. Use the drawing for the chosen series, not a generic outline. [1]
| D11/CRCW0603 e3 item | Published dimensions | Meaning for the PCB release |
|---|---|---|
| Body L × W × H | L: 1.55 +0.10/−0.05 mm; W: 0.85 ±0.10 mm; H: 0.45 ±0.05 mm | These are body dimensions, not pad lengths. Check the termination dimensions T₁ and T₂ on the same drawing. [1] |
| Recommended reflow pads | G = 0.75 mm; Y = 0.75 mm; X = 1.00 mm; Z = 2.25 mm | G is the gap, Y each pad’s length, X its width and Z the total outside span in the manufacturer drawing. [1] |
| Recommended wave-solder pads | G = 0.65 mm; Y = 1.10 mm; X = 1.25 mm; Z = 2.85 mm | A different process has a different recommended land pattern even for the same resistor. [1] |
| Component mass | 2 mg = 0.002 g | This is mass per component. Retain the stated unit when transferring it to a BOM or assembly calculation. [1] |
Tape pitch is separate again. The 0603 series offers both 2 mm and 4 mm pitch packaging codes. Match the complete ordering suffix, reel quantity and feeder setup instead of treating a case code as the complete assembly specification. [1]
05
Vishay’s resistance-to-soldering-heat test uses a solder bath at (260 ±5)°C for (10 ±1) seconds. It is a defined qualification test with permitted resistance change, not a reflow profile and not a heating rate in °C/s. A production profile also needs the actual assembly process and the manufacturer’s process guidance. [1]
Match the full part number, resistance, tolerance, TCR, finish and tape code against the reel label and order. For example, the datasheet decodes CRCW0603562RFKEA as 562 Ω, ±1%, ±100 ppm/K with EA packaging; a body marking alone does not provide all those fields. [1]
Select the relevant detail specification and test conditions. IEC 60115-8:2023 is the sectional specification for this class of component; its public scope is not a universal list of commercially available resistance and power combinations. The September 2026 IEC 60115-8-10 publication addresses drafting level-G low-power-film detail specifications and includes packaging/visual-examination provisions in its public summary. The paid acceptance clauses were not reviewed here. [2] [3]
Vishay supplies board-bending and environmental-test conditions for the component. A design still needs to check its own board, solder process and duty. The datasheet explicitly calls for qualification of conformal coatings and potting processes where used; coating a board is not an automatic cure for a stressed solder joint. [1]
RF power chips require a separate thermal and mounting review. RFTYT’s brochure puts a 2–30 W chip range beside a different leaded-resistor range. That headline is evidence of its product category, not permission to dissipate 30 W in a commodity 0603 footprint. Ask for the individual chip outline and mounting conditions. [5]
06
Use these fields to complete the component line on the assembly BOM. Supply the actual circuit and board conditions so the supplier can return a specific part number, drawing and applicable test evidence.
| Field | What to put on the request | Evidence to obtain |
|---|---|---|
| Resistance value | Nominal value in Ω, kΩ or MΩ; identify a jumper explicitly. | Exact resistance code and supported value series. A 0 Ω jumper has its own maximum resistance/current limits. [1] |
| Initial tolerance | Allowed deviation at the specified measurement condition. | Tolerance code and test method; keep load-life change separate. [1] |
| Power rating | Steady and transient load, local temperature, PCB conditions and chosen operating mode. | Derating curve, film-temperature condition and acceptable resistance drift. [1] |
| Case size | Code system plus the actual L/W/H and termination drawing. | Approved footprint and soldering process, not a size-code conversion alone. [1] |
| Temperature coefficient | Required ppm/K or ppm/°C and the applicable temperature interval. | TCR ordering code and test temperature points. Rongtech’s RT sheet demonstrates why operating range and TCR interval must not be merged. [1] [4] |
| Maximum working voltage | Continuous element voltage and actual pulse waveform. | Power-derived limit and rated/pulse-voltage limits checked together. [1] |
| Operating temperature | Ambient/board condition with powered duty, not just an endpoint. | Series derating and permissible film temperature. [1] |
| Insulation resistance | Required measurement points, test voltage and environment, if applicable. | Obtain the exact insulation-test definition and required acceptance limit. A measurement between the two resistor terminals measures the resistive path; it is not the insulation-resistance test. |
| Dielectric/voltage withstand | Which insulation path is tested, voltage, duration and acceptance criteria. | Keep the specified insulation/voltage-proof test separate from working voltage across the resistor. [1] |
| Soldering heat compatibility | Finish, solder alloy, process and allowable exposure. | Actual process guidance and applicable qualification test; temperature and time need separate units. [1] |
| Mass | Mass per component where the assembly or logistics calculation requires it. | Check mg, g and per-piece/per-thousand conventions against the manufacturer drawing. [1] |
07
Paste it into your enquiry below or into an email to a maker, then replace every bracket.
Circuit reference / function: [reference designator and purpose] Proposed manufacturer / full part number: [MPN; substitutions permitted?] Resistance / initial tolerance / TCR interval: [value; %; ppm/K and temperature points] Case drawing / approved land pattern: [document and revision; reflow or wave] Continuous voltage / current / dissipation: [worst-case values] Pulse duty: [waveform, peak, width, repetition, event count] Local temperature / PCB heat removal: [board and ambient conditions] Operating mode / drift allowance: [standard or extended; lifetime acceptance basis] Finish / solder / coating process: [termination, alloy, profile, coating if used] Packaging / quantity / delivery: [tape pitch, reel, pieces, destination] Evidence requested: [current datasheet, marking/label drawing, qualification and lot traceability]
Match the offered technology first. An RF power chip, a high-temperature film part and a PCB assembly service are different responses to a resistor enquiry.
Publishes RF chip resistors. Its brochure separates a 2–30 W chip range with BeO, AlN or Al₂O₃ substrate options from a different leaded-resistor range. Obtain the individual footprint, resistance and thermal/mounting conditions; this is not evidence of a drop-in commodity 0603 replacement.
Product scope checked 2026-10-10
Chip-resistor product category ↗
Offers RT high-temperature thick-film chips with PtAg terminations. The linked graphic separates the −55 to +300°C operating range from the +25 to +125°C TCR interval and refers dimensions to underlying series. Ask for the exact MPN, process compatibility and current manufacturing responsibility rather than relying on the high-temperature headline.
Product scope checked 2026-10-10
Explore company information and manufacturing capabilities, then discuss the scope of your project with a relevant supplier.
No. In the cited D/CRCW e3 table, the 0603 jumper is specified with a maximum resistance of 20 mΩ and a maximum current of 2 A. Its TCR is not specified. Use the jumper entry for that exact family rather than treating it as an ideal wire or applying the nonzero-resistor tolerance code. [1]
The cited family places 0.125 W in extended mode and 0.10 W in standard mode. Its stability-class-1 mode table permits greater resistance change after 1,000 hours in extended operation. Approve the operating mode, thermal conditions and drift requirement together; the larger wattage is not a free substitution. [1]
Sources checked 2026-10-10. Named manufacturer documents support the examples, not every supplier or resistor technology. Standard references use public summaries only. Website listing, qualification claim and delivered-lot conformity are different levels of evidence.
Ask for use case, specification boundaries, supplier type, and RFQ preparation information for this product.
Compare manufacturer profiles with relevant product and process capability.