Pharmaceutical-grade microcrystalline cellulose (MCC) excipient · PH-101, PH-102, PH-200 type grades, average particle size, bulk density, loss on drying, degree of polymerization, conductivity, pH, residue on ignition, heavy metals, USP/NF, Ph. Eur. and JP listings
Microcrystalline cellulose (MCC) is purified, partially depolymerized cellulose made by treating alpha cellulose from fibrous plant pulp with mineral acids; it is used as a filler, binder, disintegrant and flow aid in tablets and capsules. IFF positions the fine PH-101 for wet granulation and the coarser PH-102 and PH-200 for direct compression. Ask three things first: which grade and particle size your process needs, which pharmacopoeias (USP/NF, Ph. Eur., JP) the material must meet, and what limits beyond the compendium the supplier guarantees.
Pharmaceutical-grade microcrystalline cellulose powders for tablets and capsules, including standard (PH-101/102/200 type), high-density and low-moisture grades. Silicified MCC, colloidal MCC with carboxymethylcellulose, MCC spheres, powdered cellulose, food-grade E 460 cellulose and cellulose ethers are outside this page except where compared.
Start with your task
01
IFF gives an average particle size of 50 µm (typ.) for Avicel PH-101, 100 µm (typ.) for PH-102 and 200 µm (typ.) for PH-200, each with moisture content between 3 and 5%. It positions PH-101 for wet granulation, extrusion spherization and tablet compression, and PH-102 and PH-200 for direct compression and dry granulation/roller compaction, with the larger PH-200 particles giving enhanced flow. Loose bulk density is 0.28–0.33 g/ml for PH-102 and 0.29–0.36 g/cc for PH-200. [1] [2] [3]
Asahi Kasei's Ceolus PH table lists average particle size and bulk density of 50 µm and 0.29 g/cm³ (PH-101), 90 µm and 0.30 g/cm³ (PH-102) and 170 µm and 0.35 g/cm³ (PH-200), with angles of repose of 45°, 42° and 36° and loss on drying 2.0–6.0%; higher-density PH-301 and PH-302 are listed at 0.41 and 0.43 g/cm³. It states the values are basic reference only and not specifications. [4]
JRS lists Vivapur average particle size by laser diffraction and bulk density: 101 at 65 µm and 0.26–0.31 g/mL, 102 at 130 µm and 0.28–0.33 g/mL, and 200 at 220/250 µm and 0.31–0.37 g/mL. Its grades 103, 112 and 200 XLM are described as having very low moisture content (< 1.5 %) for water-sensitive actives, and 301 and 302 as having increased bulk density and improved flow. [5]
Editorial calculation: for the 101 grade the three makers give 50 µm (IFF and Asahi Kasei) and 65 µm (JRS, laser diffraction), and for the 200 grade 170 µm, 200 µm and 220/250 µm. The figures are not directly comparable unless the method is the same, so require the supplier to state the particle size method and d10, d50 and d90 ranges. [1] [4] [5] [6]
Give the supplier the grade or equivalent (PH-101, PH-102, PH-200 type or high-density/low-moisture variants), process (wet granulation, direct compression, roller compaction, spheronization), particle size limits and method (sieving or laser diffraction with d10/d50/d90), bulk density range, loss on drying range, pharmacopoeias to be met, nitrite or elemental impurity statements needed, microbial limits, packaging, and annual quantity.
02
The USP 35–NF 30 Microcrystalline Cellulose monograph, as reproduced by DrugFuture, requires: degree of polymerization not greater than 350 (from intrinsic viscosity in cupriethylenediamine); conductivity of the supernatant not exceeding that of the water by more than 75 µS/cm; pH 5.0–7.5; loss on drying NMT 7.0% at 105 °C for 3 h, or as labelled; residue on ignition NMT 0.1%; heavy metals NMT 10 ppm; water-soluble substances NMT 12.5 mg (0.25%); ether-soluble substances NMT 5.0 mg (0.05%); total aerobic count NMT 1000 cfu/g and molds and yeasts NMT 100 cfu/g. Labelling must state nominal loss on drying, bulk density and degree of polymerization, and d10, d50 and d90 where particle size distribution is stated. [6]
Supplier specifications can be tighter. IFF's Avicel PH-102 specification lists loss on drying 3–5%, pH 5.5–7.0, residue on ignition max 0.05%, heavy metals max 0.001%, degree of polymerization max 350, conductivity max 75 μS/cm, total aerobic plate count max 100 cfu/g and mold and yeast max 20 cfu/g. Its PH-200 sheet marks loss on drying 2.0–5.0% and pH 5.5–7.0 as more restrictive than compendium; its PH-101 sheet limits the +60 mesh (250 microns) fraction to max 1.0% and the +200 mesh (74 microns) fraction to max 35%. [2] [3] [1]
Pharmacopoeia listings: Asahi Kasei lists Ceolus PH under JP Microcrystalline Cellulose, USP/NF Microcrystalline Cellulose and Ph. Eur. Cellulose, Microcrystalline; JRS lists Vivapur under Ph. Eur., NF, JP, E 460(i) and FCC. [4] [5]
Editorial calculation: IFF's heavy metals limit of max 0.001% equals 10 ppm, the same as the USP 35 limit, and its water-soluble substances limit of 12.0 mg per 5 g is 0.24%, inside the USP 12.5 mg (0.25%). The reviewed monograph text is the USP 35–NF 30 edition, so ask the supplier which current edition and elemental impurity statement it certifies against. [2] [6]
03
When requesting quotations, ask each supplier for the grade table, certificate of analysis, specification with compendial and in-house limits, particle size method, regulatory file references, stability and retest period, and samples.
04
The last three rows are compendial tests and the first three are grade choices: USP–NF fixes degree of polymerization, conductivity and microbial limits for every grade, while particle size and density separate PH-101, 102 and 200. [6]
| Property | Why it matters | Fix in the order |
|---|---|---|
| Particle size | Sets flow and process fit; 50–250 µm across 101/102/200 type grades. [3] [5] | Grade, d50, method. |
| Bulk density | Labelled value; 0.26–0.37 across 101/102/200 type grades. [5] [4] [6] | Range. |
| Loss on drying | NMT 7.0% compendial; 3–5% or < 1.5 % by grade. [6] [2] [5] | Range. |
| Degree of polymerization | Not greater than 350. [6] | Limit. |
| Conductivity and pH | ≤ 75 µS/cm over water; pH 5.0–7.5. [6] | Limits. |
| Microbial limits | 1000 cfu/g compendial; 100 cfu/g in one spec. [6] [2] | Limits. |
05
Particle size only compares on one method: IFF and Asahi Kasei give 50 µm for the 101 grade, JRS 65 µm by laser diffraction, so name the method with the limit. [4] [5]
| Field | What it means and published values | Ask the supplier for |
|---|---|---|
| Particle size D50 (μm) | 50, 100, 200 µm (typ.) for Avicel PH-101/102/200; 65–250 µm by laser for Vivapur. [1] [2] [3] [5] | d10/d50/d90 and method. |
| Bulk density (g/cm³) | 0.28–0.33 g/ml (PH-102); 0.29–0.35 g/cm³ (Ceolus PH-101 to PH-200, reference). [2] [4] | Range and method. |
| Moisture content (% w/w) | 3–5% (Avicel); < 1.5 % low-moisture grades. [2] [5] | Range. |
| pH value | 5.0–7.5 compendial; 5.5–7.0 supplier. [6] [3] | Range. |
| Loss on drying (%) | NMT 7.0% at 105 °C, 3 h. [6] | Range. |
| Heavy metals (ppm) | NMT 10 ppm (USP 35). [6] | Elemental impurity statement. |
| Degree of polymerization | Not greater than 350. [6] [3] | Value. |
| Specific surface area (m²/g) | Not stated in reviewed sources. | Value and method. |
| Ash content (%) | Residue on ignition NMT 0.1%; max 0.05% supplier. [6] [2] | Limit. |
| Organic volatile impurities (%) | Not stated in reviewed sources. | Residual solvent statement. |
| Solubility | Water-soluble substances NMT 0.25%; ether-soluble NMT 0.05%. [6] | Limits. |
| Conductivity (µS/cm) | ≤ 75 over water. [6] [2] | Limit. |
06
Paste it into your enquiry below or into an email to a maker, then replace every bracket.
Grade: [PH-101; PH-102; PH-200 type; other] Process: [wet granulation; direct compression; roller compaction] Particle size: [d50; d10/d90; method] Bulk density: [g/mL range] Moisture: [LOD range] Compendia: [USP/NF; Ph. Eur.; JP; edition] Quantity: [kg per year; packaging]
1 company lists this product among what they make. Company figures are quoted from each company's own website; every card states where the relationship came from.
Its website has a product page for pharmaceutical-grade microcrystalline cellulose.
Product scope checked 2026-10-12
Explore company information and manufacturing capabilities, then discuss the scope of your project with a relevant supplier.
Particle size: IFF gives a “typical average particle size” of 50, 100 and 200 µm; PH-101 for wet granulation, PH-102 and PH-200 for direct compression. [1] [2] [3]
The USP–NF monograph sets it at not greater than 350, determined by intrinsic viscosity. [6]
Sources checked 2026-10-11. IFF (Avicel, archived product pages), Asahi Kasei (Ceolus) and JRS (Vivapur) publish their own grade data; the monograph is the USP 35–NF 30 text as reproduced by DrugFuture. Values for your lot must come from the supplier's specification and certificate of analysis.
Ask for use case, specification boundaries, supplier type, and RFQ preparation information for this product.
Compare manufacturer profiles with relevant product and process capability.