Touch screen panel · Resistive, projected capacitive (PCAP) or SAW, glove use, transmittance, surface hardness, interface, temperature, bonding
A touch screen panel is the transparent sensor and controller laid over a display to report where it is touched. Ask three things first: which sensing technology suits the gloves and environment, what optical and surface values the datasheet guarantees, and how the panel connects to and bonds to your display.
Touch sensor panels and overlays supplied as components: resistive, projected capacitive (PCAP) and surface acoustic wave (SAW). Complete panel PCs (see panel PC), HMI terminals, kiosks and bare LCD modules without touch are outside this page.
01
Faytech explains that a resistive panel registers a touch when "sufficient pressure (typically 30-100 grams)" deflects a flexible layer onto a rigid layer, so bare fingers, gloved hands and styluses all work, while its multi-layer construction reduces light transmission by 15–25%; a capacitive panel detects 10+ simultaneous touches through a single glass layer transmitting 90%+ of backlight output, but standard gloves block it. [3]
Hectronic describes PCAP as two electrode layers in rows and columns, with the capacitance coupling measured at every x/y intersection; because the finger need not touch the electrodes, a protective glass plate can cover them, calibration is done once in production and coordinate drift does not arise. It notes the resistive surface responds to a finger with or without thick gloves, pencils and tools, and is the cheaper of the two. [4]
CJTOUCH lists SAW touch screens on 3, 4 or 6 mm optical glass, activated by finger, gloved hand, leather or soft stylus, with more than 50 million touches on a single point claimed. [5]
Give the supplier the active area and outline, display it mounts on, technology, glove or stylus use, number of touch points, cover glass thickness and treatments, interface (I2C or USB), operating and storage temperature, sealing requirement and bonding method.
02
DWIN's 10.4 in 4-wire resistive panel HR4-8545 lists ITO film + ITO glass + FPC structure, 174.0 × 225.3 × 1.4 mm glass outline, 3H surface hardness, transmittance ≥78%, operation −10 to 70 °C, storage −20 to 80 °C, 20–90% humidity non-condensing, rated 3 V at 5–30 mA, linearity within ±1.5% in X and Y, and life of more than 1,000,000 dots and 100,000 strokes. [1]
DWIN's 10.4 in capacitive panel TPC104T0008G01V1 lists a G+G structure with 0.7 mm cover lens and 0.7 mm sensor glass, 228.0 × 174.4 × 1.6 mm outline, GT9110 controller with I2C interface, 6H surface hardness, transmittance ≥85% and −20 to 70 °C operating and storage temperature; DWIN states I2C and USB interfaces and panels from 0.9 to 37 inches. [2]
Hectronic notes that edge bonding leaves an air gap where dust and condensation reduce clarity and reflections add glare, while edge-bonded parts are easier to separate for repair; in optical bonding the refractive indexes of glass and adhesive are matched to reduce reflections. [4] Faytech lists IP65 as dust-tight with protection against water jets, and quotes industrial displays at −20 to 70 °C against 0 to 50 °C for commercial grades. [3]
Editorial calculation: the two DWIN 10.4 in panels differ by at least 7 percentage points in rated transmittance (≥85% vs ≥78%) and by three pencil-hardness grades (6H vs 3H); note these are pencil-hardness values, not Mohs. [1] [2]
03
The suppliers linked to this page list touch panels, touch screen components or touch monitors; their cards link to the pages reviewed.
Ask any supplier for the panel datasheet with structure, active area and outline, transmittance, surface hardness, linearity or accuracy, controller and interface, driver support, temperature and humidity ratings, touch life and the bonding offered.
04
This is a functional reference built from the sources cited; it is not one maker's specification.
| Part | Role | Fix in the order |
|---|---|---|
| Sensor layers | Detect position (ITO film/glass or electrode grid). [1] [4] | Technology; structure. |
| Cover glass | Protects and sets hardness. [2] [4] | Thickness; hardness; coatings. |
| Controller | Converts signals to coordinates. [2] [3] | Chip; touch points. |
| Interface and FPC | Connects to the host. [2] [1] | I2C or USB; cable. |
| Bonding | Joins panel to display. [4] | Edge or optical. |
05
A touch screen quotation needs values for your device. The table explains each field, gives published values where a reviewed source states them, and says what to obtain from the supplier.
| Field | What it means and published values | Ask the supplier for |
|---|---|---|
| Screen Size (Diagonal) (inch) | e.g. 0.9–37 in offered by DWIN. [2] | Size; active area. |
| Resolution (pixels) | Set by the display; the touch layer reports coordinates. [4] | Display resolution. |
| Touch Point Count (points) | e.g. 10+ capacitive; resistive single-touch. [3] | Points supported. |
| Response Time (ms) | e.g. 3–5 ms latency quoted for capacitive. [3] | Measured value. |
| Accuracy (mm) | e.g. linearity within ±1.5% (resistive). [1] | Accuracy or linearity. |
| Operating Voltage (V DC) | e.g. 3 V rated, 5–30 mA (resistive). [1] | Supply; current. |
| Power Consumption (W) | Not stated in the reviewed sources. | Value. |
| Operating Temperature (°C) | e.g. −10 to 70 (resistive); −20 to 70 (capacitive). [1] [2] | Range. |
| Storage Temperature (°C) | e.g. −20 to 80 (resistive); −20 to 70 (capacitive). [1] [2] | Range. |
| Humidity (Operating) (% RH) | e.g. 20–90% non-condensing. [1] | Range. |
| Ingress Protection | IP65 = dust-tight, water jets. [3] | Rating of the sealed front. |
| Surface Hardness (H) | Pencil hardness, e.g. 3H resistive, 6H G+G. [1] [2] | Hardness and test method. |
| Weight (kg) | Not stated in the reviewed sources. | Weight. |
06
Paste it into your enquiry below or into an email to a maker, then replace every bracket.
Size: [diagonal; active area; outline] Technology: [resistive; PCAP; SAW] Use: [gloves; stylus; touch points] Optics: [transmittance; cover glass; coatings] Interface: [I2C; USB; controller] Environment: [temperature; humidity; IP] Bonding: [edge; optical]
These companies list touch panels, touch screen components or touch monitors.
Lists resistive and capacitive touch panels with datasheets.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists PCAP, SAW and IR touch screen components and touch monitors.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists PCAP and resistive touchscreen LCD monitors.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Explore company information and manufacturing capabilities, then discuss the scope of your project with a relevant supplier.
Faytech says resistive panels register any object applying pressure, including gloved hands, while standard gloves block capacitive panels; CJTOUCH lists SAW screens as working with gloves. [3] [5]
DWIN rates its 10.4 in resistive panel at ≥78% and its G+G capacitive panel at ≥85% transmittance. [1] [2]
Hectronic notes edge bonding leaves an air gap where dust, condensation and reflections reduce clarity. [4]
Sources checked 2026-10-11. DWIN, CJTOUCH and Hectronic make touch panels and touch displays; Faytech makes touchscreen displays and publishes a technology comparison.
Ask for use case, specification boundaries, supplier type, and RFQ preparation information for this product.
Compare manufacturer profiles with relevant product and process capability.