Editorial Technical Reference

Ferromolybdenum (FeMo) master alloy

Ferromolybdenum (FeMo) for steelmaking and foundry molybdenum additions · grades FeMo55 to FeMo65/75, Mo range and Si/S/P/C/Cu/Sn/Sb limits, aluminothermic production, lump and ladle sizes, drum and bag packing, GB/T 3649 and maker datasheets

Ferromolybdenum is an iron–molybdenum alloy used to introduce molybdenum into molten iron and steel. Specify the ordered grade and composition limits separately from the screened particle size and package mass. A high-purity product name alone does not establish the impurity limits of a delivery lot.

Ferromolybdenum (FeMo) lump and granular alloy for steelmaking, casting and alloy-material molybdenum additions — FeMo55, FeMo60, FeMo65, 60/70 and 65/75 grades, including the product listed here as high-purity ferromolybdenum master alloy. Molybdenum concentrate, roasted molybdenite concentrate (technical molybdenum oxide), molybdenum metal and other ferroalloys are outside this page except where compared.

CNFX editorial research · Sources checked October 18, 2026 · 5 sources

Steel bins of dark silver-grey metal lumps and stacked metal ingots in a workshop, with a glowing furnace opening behind and a worker in an aluminised protective suit weighing a sample on a bench scale
Metal lumps and ingots beside a furnace

01

Pick the grade: molybdenum range and impurity limits

Climax Molybdenum's 60/70 datasheet lists molybdenum at 60.00–70.00% by weight with maximums of 1.00% soluble silicon, 0.50% copper, 0.15% sulfur, 0.10% carbon and 0.05% phosphorus, balance principally iron. [1] Its 65/75 datasheet, for material produced in the United Kingdom, lists 65.00–75.00% molybdenum with 1.50% soluble silicon, 0.50% copper, 0.10% sulfur, 0.05% carbon and 0.05% phosphorus maximum. [2] Jinduicheng Molybdenum (JDC) lists four grades under its enterprise standard Q/JDC 007-2012: FeMo65 (the Mo cell begins ≥65%, with additional entries discussed below), FeMo60A and FeMo60B (Mo 60–65%) and FeMo55 (Mo 55–60%), each with carbon 0.10%, phosphorus 0.05%, tin 0.04% and antimony 0.04% maximum; sulfur is 0.08% for FeMo65, 0.10% for FeMo60A and FeMo55 and 0.15% for FeMo60B; silicon is 1.0% except 1.5% for FeMo60B; copper is 0.30% for FeMo65 and 0.50% for the others. [3]

The reviewed historical GB/T 3649-2008 excerpt adopts ISO 5452:1980 with modifications, replaced GB/T 3649-1987, cut the grades from 9 designations to 6 and adjusted the molybdenum, carbon, sulfur and copper contents; its normative references include methods for molybdenum, antimony, copper, silicon and phosphorus, and an informative appendix gives a phenylfluorone photometric method for tin. The grade table itself is not in the public excerpt reviewed, so agree the applicable edition and grade with the supplier; this excerpt review does not establish the currently ordered standard. [4]

Editorial note: the grade name alone does not fix the impurity limits — the 65/75 and FeMo65 sheets above differ on sulfur, carbon and copper — so state each element limit in the order rather than citing a grade name only.

JDC’s FeMo65 row requires clarification: within its Mo cell, the first line is ≥65, followed by the unlabelled values 60.00, 57.00, 55.00, 60.00, 55.00 and 60.00. Those values cannot all be treated as the same minimum, and the page does not explain their assignment. They are reproduced here as a source-table ambiguity, not alternative certified grades; request the corrected grade sheet and lot certificate from JDC. The other named grade rows have their own Mo ranges as stated above. [3]

Give the supplier the grade and the standard or datasheet it must meet, minimum or range of molybdenum, maximum Si, S, P, C, Cu, Sn and Sb, the analysis basis and methods, size fraction, packing, lot size, certificate of analysis requirements and delivery schedule.

02

Check how it is made, the size fraction and packing

IMOA states that between 30 and 40% of technical molybdenum oxide production is processed into ferromolybdenum: the oxide is mixed with iron oxide and reduced by aluminium in a thermite reaction, producing an ingot weighing hundreds of kilograms; after air cooling, the ingot is crushed and screened to specified particle size ranges. The roasted molybdenite concentrate fed to this step has a listed minimum 57% molybdenum and <0.1% sulfur (typ. in IMOA’s processing description). [5] The reviewed Climax REV24-01 sheets list its alloy in a range of sizes for furnace or ladle addition: lump (plus 3/4 inch), nut (3/4 inch x 1/5 inch), ladle (1/4 inch and under) and small ladle (20 mesh and under) in the United States, packed in 200 lb steel drums or 2,500 lb bags [1]; and 10–50, 5–50, 5–30 and 2–10 mm in the United Kingdom, packed in 250 kg steel drums or 1,000 kg and 2,000 kg bags. [2]

JDC delivers lump or granular material in 3–20 mm, 10–50 mm and 10–100 mm sizes, packed in iron drums of 100 kg or 250 kg net (weight tolerance ±2‰) or bags of 1,000 kg net. [3] GB/T 3649-2008 specifies iron drums of 100 kg or bags of 1,000 kg net, with other packing by agreement, and refers particle-size sampling and acceptance to GB/T 13247. [4]

Editorial calculation: using the defined conversions 1 lb =0.45359237 kg and 1 in =25.4 mm, the US sheet’s 200 lb net drum converts to approximately 90.7 kg and its 2500 lb net bag to approximately 1134.0 kg; its 3/4 in lump threshold converts to 19.05 mm and 1/4 in to 6.35 mm. These are unit conversions of separate catalogue entries, not measured package weights or declarations that the US and UK size fractions are equivalent. [1]

03

Grade sheet and delivery-lot analysis

Jinduicheng lists ferromolybdenum and small-size ferromolybdenum as furnace-charge products. Match the quoted grade sheet to the delivery-lot certificate, including any stricter impurity limits.

When requesting quotations, ask each supplier for the grade datasheet or certificate of analysis, the standard it certifies to, the size fractions it screens, packing options, safety data sheet and lot traceability.

04

Thermite feed, screened alloy and delivery package

IMOA describes an oxide-to-alloy processing route. The incoming alloy order instead specifies composition, screened fraction and package mass; the feed composition is not the finished alloy analysis. [5]

ElementRoleFix in the order
Roasted molybdenite concentrateIMOA’s roasted-concentrate description lists minimum 57% Mo and <0.1% S (typ.); this is feed material. [5]Ask origin.
Iron oxide and aluminiumThermite charge; aluminium is the reductant. [5]Process route.
Molybdenum60–75% in the alloy. [5]Range or minimum.
ImpuritiesSi, S, P, C, Cu, Sn, Sb limits. [3] [2]Element maximums.
Size fractionClimax UK lists separate fractions including 2–10 mm; JDC lists fractions including 10–100 mm. The intermediate sizes are separate orders, not one continuous guaranteed grading. [2] [3]Size range.
PackingSteel drums or bags. [4] [2]Net mass.

05

Mo assay, impurity ceilings and screened fraction

Tie each chemical limit to a named grade and document. Record particle-size acceptance, package net mass and the certificate basis separately.

FieldWhat it means and published valuesAsk the supplier for
Molybdenum content55–60% (FeMo55) to 65–75% (65/75). [3] [2]Range and basis.
Silicon content1.0–1.50% max. [3] [1] [2]Max %.
Carbon content0.05–0.10% max. [2] [3]Max %.
Sulfur content0.08–0.15% max. [3] [1]Max %.
Phosphorus content0.05% max. [1] [3]Max %.
Copper, tin, antimonyJDC grade-dependent Cu maximum is 0.30% or 0.50%; Sn and Sb maxima are each 0.04%. [3]Max %.
Particle size distribution3–20, 10–50, 10–100 mm; 2–10 to 10–50 mm. [3] [2]Size range, fines.
DensityNot stated in reviewed sources.g/cm³ if needed.
Melting pointNot stated in reviewed sources.Range if needed.
Bulk densityNot stated in reviewed sources.For hopper sizing.
Moisture contentNot stated in reviewed sources.Max % if specified.
Packaging100/250 kg drums; 1,000/2,000 kg bags. [3] [2]Net mass, liner.
Supply capacityNot stated in reviewed sources.t per month, lead time.

06

Send grade, limits, size and packing together

Paste it into your enquiry below or into an email to a maker, then replace every bracket.

Grade: [FeMo55; FeMo60; FeMo65; 65/75]
Standard: [GB/T 3649; maker datasheet]
Mo: [% range]
Max: [Si; S; P; C; Cu; Sn; Sb]
Size: [mm]
Packing: [drum kg; bag kg]
Quantity: [t]

See manufacturer records Send an enquiry through CNFX

Find ferromolybdenum manufacturers

1 company lists this product among what they make. Company figures are quoted from each company's own website; every card states where the relationship came from.

Jinduicheng Molybdenum Group Co., Ltd.
TBC

Its website lists ferromolybdenum and small-size ferromolybdenum among its furnace-charge products.

Product scope checked 2026-10-18

Current product source ↗

Product page on own website · profile compiled by CNFX from public sources

Explore company information and manufacturing capabilities, then discuss the scope of your project with a relevant supplier.

Share this page

Buyer questions

How is ferromolybdenum made?

IMOA describes mixing roasted molybdenum oxide with iron oxide and reducing it with aluminium in a thermite reaction, then crushing and screening the ingot. [5]

What impurity limits does FeMo60A carry?

JDC lists C 0.10, S 0.10, P 0.05, Si 1.0, Cu 0.50, Sn 0.04 and Sb 0.04% maximum, with Mo 60–65%. [3]

What sizes and packing are offered?

Climax's UK sheet lists 10–50, 5–50, 5–30 and 2–10 mm, in 250 kg drums or 1,000 and 2,000 kg bags. [2]

Sources and what still needs a direct check

Sources checked 2026-10-18. Sources are two Climax Molybdenum datasheets, a Jinduicheng Molybdenum product page, the public excerpt of GB/T 3649-2008 and IMOA's processing overview.

  1. Climax Molybdenum — Ferromolybdenum 60/70 product data sheet (US) ↗ Maker datasheet Return to text ↑
  2. Climax Molybdenum — Ferromolybdenum 65/75 product data sheet (EU) ↗ Maker datasheet Return to text ↑
  3. Jinduicheng Molybdenum Group — Ferromolybdenum (钼铁) product page ↗ Maker product page Return to text ↑
  4. GB/T 3649-2008 Ferromolybdenum — public English excerpt ↗ National standard excerpt Return to text ↑
  5. International Molybdenum Association (IMOA) — Molybdenum processing ↗ Industry association Return to text ↑

Still to check yourself

  • State Mo range and every impurity maximum.
  • Name the standard or datasheet.
  • Match size fraction to furnace or ladle use.
  • Confirm packing and net mass.
  • Verify the legal supplier and factory.
Buyer enquiry

Request manufacturing insight for High-Purity Ferromolybdenum Master Alloy

Ask for use case, specification boundaries, supplier type, and RFQ preparation information for this product.

Where it goes
Straight to the CNFX editorial desk, and to the manufacturer if this product is linked to a claimed profile. Nothing is broadcast to a supplier list.
Your details stay here
We do not sell or rent enquiry data, and we do not add you to a mailing list. Used only to answer this request.
No commission, no middleman
CNFX is a directory. We take no cut of any order and never negotiate on a supplier's behalf.
What to include
Share your product specifications, quantity, destination and target delivery date.

Your business information is used only to process this request.

Thank you! Your message has been sent. We'll respond within 1–3 business days.
Sorry, we couldn't send your message. Please try again, or email us at [email protected].

Need to Manufacture High-Purity Ferromolybdenum Master Alloy?

Compare manufacturer profiles with relevant product and process capability.

Previous Product
High-Purity Ferrocolumbium Master Alloy
Next Product
High-Purity Ferrotitanium Master Alloy
Get QuotesChat