Terminal tractors (yard trucks, spotters, shunt trucks) · gross combination weight, elevating fifth wheel lift capacity and lift height, fifth wheel locks and release, 2-inch kingpin, diesel or battery-electric drive, battery capacity and range, wheelbase, turning radius, cab
A terminal tractor, also called a yard truck, spotter or shunt truck, is a 4x2 tractor that moves semi-trailers and container trailers around ports, rail yards and distribution centres. Its elevating fifth wheel lifts the trailer nose off its landing gear, so the driver can couple, move and drop trailers without cranking the legs. Ask three things first: the gross combination weight and fifth wheel lift capacity you need; the fifth wheel height, lift and lock arrangement for your trailers; and whether diesel or battery-electric drive suits your shifts and charging.
Terminal tractors for port, intermodal, rail and distribution yards, diesel, gas and battery-electric, including their elevating fifth wheel couplings (hydraulic lift fifth wheels) and fifth wheel lock release handles and controls. Road tractors, reach stackers, automated guided vehicles, trailers and trailer kingpins sold alone are outside this page except where compared.
01
Terberg lists its YT193 and YT223 diesel terminal tractors at a gross combination weight (GCW) of 75 t and 90 t (depending on operating conditions), its YT220 at 85 t, and its electric YT203EV at 50–90 t depending on axle ratio. Each uses a Terberg cast steel 2-inch fifth wheel plate with lift capacity up to 36 t; the lowest fifth wheel height is 935 mm, depending on tyre size, and rear axle capacity is 30–38 t at 20 km/h. [1] Kalmar's Ottawa T2 4x2 off-road specification lists a Holland FW35TT fifth wheel with an 80,000 lb plate rating, 17-inch lift and 5-inch hydraulic cylinders with spherical bushings top and bottom. [2] Capacity's TJ 5000 sell sheet lists the same SAF Holland FW35TT fifth wheel rated for 80,000 lbs, 5-inch cylinders with 16-inch lift height and a GCVW of 81,000 lbs. [3]
SAF-HOLLAND's yard spotter fifth wheel manual sets out the coupling and release sequence: the trailer bolster plate should meet the fifth wheel 4–6 inches behind its pivot point; after coupling, the driver checks that the locks are completely closed around the kingpin. For moves on public roads, the manual secondary lock is engaged by removing the hairpin clip on the secondary lock handle, the fifth wheel must be in the down position and speed is limited to 45 mph. To uncouple, the driver pulls the secondary lock handle outward, holds the fifth wheel lock control valve in to open the locks and drives clear of the kingpin. The manual warns that elevating fifth wheels in the raised position are less stable than standard fifth wheels. [6]
The trailer side of the coupling is standardised. ISO 337 specifies the dimensions of the 50 coupling pin, given in its catalogue entry as dia. 50,8 mm (2 in), for coupling semi-trailers to prime movers. [7] SAE J700 covers upper coupler kingpins on commercial trailers and semitrailers: a 90° ± 1° angle from the kingpin centreline to the upper coupler plate within a 19 in radius, with the plate bowing down no more than 1/4 in within that radius and up no more than 1/16 in. [8]
Editorial calculation: an 80,000 lb fifth wheel plate rating is 80,000 × 0.4536 ≈ 36,300 kg, close to Terberg's 36 t lift capacity; Capacity's 81,000 lb GCVW is about 36.7 t, well below Terberg's 75–90 t GCW, so state the heaviest trailer and load you will move rather than comparing model names. A 17-inch lift is 17 × 25.4 ≈ 432 mm and a 16-inch lift ≈ 406 mm. [2] [3] [1]
Give the supplier the heaviest trailer, container and cargo weight to be moved (GCW), trailer types and kingpin size (2-inch per ISO 337 or other), trailer nose and landing-gear heights, fifth wheel lift capacity and lift height required, lock and secondary-lock arrangement, whether the tractor runs on public roads, yard surface and gradients, shifts per day, climate, and quantity.
02
Diesel examples: Kalmar's Ottawa T2 uses a Cummins B6.7 Stage V (Tier 4 final) engine rated 156 HP at 2200 rpm with an Allison 3000RDS 6-speed automatic, a 116-inch wheelbase, a 50-gallon fuel tank, maximum road speed of 25 mph and approximate weight of 15,300 lbs. [2] Terberg's YT220 uses a Cummins QSB 6.7L 225-hp engine with an Allison 3000 series 5-speed transmission, a 300 L fuel tank, 40 km/h maximum speed and a 6,500 mm turning radius; the YT193 and YT223 use Cummins B6.7 Stage V engines of 142 kW and 168 kW. [1] Capacity's TJ 5000 lists a Cummins ISB6.7L at 200 horsepower with an Allison RDS 3500 transmission. [3]
Battery-electric examples: Terberg's YT203EV and YT201EV offer a choice of 310 kWh or 155 kWh LFP battery systems, regenerative braking, battery thermal management and CCS charging, with batteries and vehicle complying with ECE-R100. [1] Orange EV describes its e-TRIEVER as a pure-electric Class 8 terminal truck with 100 kWh or 180 kWh battery packs, and its HUSK-e for ports, intermodal and rail with a 243 kWh pack; it states a 7.5-year standard battery warranty. [4] SANY's SM4602 electric terminal tractor page lists a 4x2 driveline, 6435 × 2550 × 3300 mm overall dimensions, 4000 mm wheelbase, 120 km endurance, 75 t maximum traction capacity, 40 km/h maximum speed and a battery-swapping mode; the same page lists the SM4256 at 120 km with a 60-minute fast charge. [5]
Cab: Kalmar specifies a steel and composite high-roof cab with an aluminium sliding rear door and certified roll-over protection structure (ROPS); Terberg's YT220 has a hi-rise cab with a full-height door and a rear or side door option, and its YT193/YT223 are available in left- and right-hand drive. [2] [1]
Editorial calculation: Terberg's 142 kW and 168 kW ratings are about 142 × 1.341 ≈ 190 hp and 168 × 1.341 ≈ 225 hp; Kalmar's 25 mph limit is about 40 km/h, and its 116-inch wheelbase is 116 × 25.4 ≈ 2,946 mm, against SANY's 4000 mm. Doubling battery size from 155 to 310 kWh doubles stored energy, so ask suppliers for range or shift hours at your duty cycle rather than battery size alone. [2] [1] [5]
03
Suppliers linked to this page list terminal tractors; each card links to the page reviewed.
The reviewed listing is for battery-electric terminal tractors with charging or battery-swapping options. When requesting quotations, ask each supplier for GCW and fifth wheel ratings, lift height, drive and battery data, cab layout, standards met and service support.
04
This is a functional reference built from the sources cited; it is not one maker's design.
| Part | Role | Fix in the order |
|---|---|---|
| Elevating fifth wheel | Couples and lifts the trailer nose; up to 36 t lift. [1] | Capacity, plate rating. |
| Lift cylinders | 5-inch hydraulic, 16–17 inch lift. [2] [3] | Lift height. |
| Locks and secondary lock handle | Close around the kingpin; hairpin-clip secondary lock. [6] | Lock type, release. |
| Lock control valve | Held in to open the locks when uncoupling. [6] | Control location. |
| Kingpin (trailer) | 2-inch pin per ISO 337; plate flatness per SAE J700. [7] [8] | Pin size. |
| Drive | Diesel engine or LFP battery pack. [1] [4] | Power, kWh. |
| Cab | High-roof with sliding rear door and ROPS. [2] | Door side, drive side. |
05
A terminal tractor quotation needs values for your yard. The table explains each field, gives published values where a reviewed source states them, and says what to obtain from the supplier.
| Field | What it means and published values | Ask the supplier for |
|---|---|---|
| Engine power (hp) | 156 HP; 200 HP; 225 hp in reviewed models. [2] [3] [1] | Rating and emission stage. |
| Maximum GCWR (t) | 75–90 t GCW; 81,000 lbs GCVW. [1] [3] | GCW at your gradients. |
| Turning radius (m) | 6,500 mm (YT220). [1] | Value. |
| Fifth wheel height (mm) | Lowest 935 mm; lift 16–17 in. [1] [2] [3] | Lowest and raised height. |
| Fuel tank capacity (L) | 300 L; 50 gallons. [1] [2] | Capacity. |
| Maximum speed (km/h) | 40 km/h; 25 mph. [1] [2] | Limited speed. |
| Gradeability (%) | Not stated in reviewed sources. | Grade at full GCW. |
| Operating temperature (°C) | Not stated in reviewed sources. | Range and battery heating. |
| Emission standard | Stage V (Tier 4 final) diesel; zero tailpipe on electric. [2] [1] | Certificate. |
| Transmission type | Allison 3000 series automatic. [2] [1] | Model, gears. |
| Cab type | High-roof, sliding rear door, ROPS. [2] | Door and drive side. |
| Wheelbase (m) | 116 in; 4000 mm. [2] [5] | Value. |
| Curb weight (t) | Approx. 15,300 lbs (T2). [2] | Weight. |
| Battery capacity and range | 155/310 kWh; 100/180/243 kWh; 120 km. [1] [4] [5] | kWh, range, charge time. |
06
Paste it into your enquiry below or into an email to a maker, then replace every bracket.
Trailers: [types; heaviest GCW; kingpin size; nose height] Fifth wheel: [lift capacity; lift height; locks; secondary lock] Drive: [diesel; electric kWh; charging or swapping] Yard: [surface; gradients; public-road moves] Duty: [shifts; hours per day; climate] Cab: [door side; drive side] Quantity: [units]
These companies list terminal tractors.
Lists electric terminal tractors, including the SM4602 with 75 t traction capacity and battery swapping.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Explore company information and manufacturing capabilities, then discuss the scope of your project with a relevant supplier.
Terberg lists fifth wheel lift capacity up to 36 t; Kalmar's Ottawa T2 fifth wheel has an 80,000 lb plate rating with 17-inch lift. [1] [2]
SAF-HOLLAND's yard spotter manual: disengage the secondary lock handle, hold the lock control valve in to open the locks, and drive clear of the kingpin. [6]
Sources checked 2026-10-11. Terberg, Kalmar, Capacity, Orange EV and SANY publish their own tractor specifications; SAF-HOLLAND's manual covers the fifth wheel; ISO and SAE catalogue summaries cover the kingpin. Values for your tractor must come from the supplier's specification sheet.
Ask for use case, specification boundaries, supplier type, and RFQ preparation information for this product.
Compare manufacturer profiles with relevant product and process capability.