Integrable dot peen marking heads for production lines · marking area and characters per second, pneumatic or electric stylus heads, deep marking above 0.5 mm, 3D styli for uneven parts, and getting Data Matrix dots inside 65-105% size with a camera check
A dot peen marking head drives a hardened stylus into the part, dot after dot, to leave a permanent code, serial number or Data Matrix symbol without consumables. Built into a line, it has to fit the station, mark within the cycle time, mark deep enough to survive later processes, and place dots well enough for a reader to grade the code. Specify the marking area, speed, head and stylus type, depth, how it is controlled, and how the code will be verified.
Integrable dot peen (pin) marking heads and their controllers for production lines, robots and machining centres: marking area, speed, stylus heads, deep marking, 3D styli, line integration and Data Matrix verification. Inkjet and laser coders on packaging lines are covered on the Coding unit page; vision systems that read and inspect codes on the Machine vision system page; galvo scanners for laser markers on the Galvanometer motor page.
01
COUTH's DOT 50x17 U Superfast is a dot peen unit "especially designed to be integrated into production lines": 50 × 17 mm area (50 × 25 mm option), "Speed up to 16 characters/second", 6 bar air, materials "up to 62HRC", characters from 0.1 mm to the full area, alphanumerics, logos, Data Matrix and QR codes, and a choice of pneumatic (N7, N10, N14, N20) or electric (S2, S6) heads; it weighs 1.7 kg and comes with a 2.5 m robotics cable. [1]
Gravotech's history of the range records that its integrable dot peen machines came in "pneumatic (the fastest) and electromagnetic (the most precise)" versions, and that its first pneumatic version marked 5 characters per second. [3]
| Unit | Area | Speed | Head | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| COUTH DOT 50x17 U | 50 × 17 mm (50 × 25 option) | Up to 16 characters/s | Pneumatic N7-N20 or electric S2, S6 | [1] |
| COUTH DOT 72x35 U Deep Mark | 72 × 35 mm | Up to 4 characters/s (large characters) | N34 pneumatic deep-marking head; N20 option | [2] |
| Gravotech XF510p | Not stated on the page | Up to 12 characters per second | 3D stylus option | [3] |
| Gravotech XE510p | 50 × 20 or 100 × 80 mm versions | Not stated on the page | Pneumatic | [3] |
Give the characters, code and symbol sizes, the material and hardness, the cycle time available and the mounting (fixed, linear axis, robot), so the supplier can pick area, head and speed.
02
COUTH's 72x35 U Deep Mark unit is designed "for marking pieces with later treatment ( blasting, machining, grinding, painting, etc.)" and gives a "Very deep mark, more than 0.5 mm, at optimum speed". [2] For parts with uneven heights, Gravotech's 3D stylus extends or retracts automatically to follow the surface, with an effective working distance from 0.08 to 0.71 in, so curved and stepped parts can be marked without moving the marker; its eZ150 electric linear axis with 150 mm stroke moves the head along a line. [3]
Editorial conversion: 0.08 to 0.71 in is about 2 to 18 mm of working distance. [3]
03
Pryor's guide to the aerospace standard AS9132 lists its three criteria: "Dot size needs to be between 65% and 105%", dot centre offset within 0% to 20% of the ideal grid, and up to 6 degrees of distortion of the L-shaped finder pattern. If dots are too big, "the marking force is too high and needs to be reduced", which can be done in the controller or by changing the gap between part and pin ("a larger gap gives higher force"); if the dot centre offset fails, the fixture is not clamping the part well enough or the marking head has play and needs service. [4]
Pryor recommends that "a machine-mounted camera should be used immediately after the mark has been made" to keep verification consistent, since lighting alone can change a pass to a fail. [4]
State the code standard the customer applies (AS9132 or another), the cell size, and whether verification is by an in-line camera after marking.
04
Paste it into your enquiry below or into an email to a maker, then replace every bracket.
Marks: [text; serial; Data Matrix size; logo] Part: [material; hardness; surface; later treatment] Area and speed: [mm; characters per second; cycle time] Head: [pneumatic; electric; deep; 3D stylus] Mounting: [fixed; linear axis; robot; cable length] Control: [controller; fieldbus; PLC signals] Verification: [standard; camera]
Manufacturer profiles associated with Marking Head.
Explore company information and manufacturing capabilities, then discuss the scope of your project with a relevant supplier.
COUTH rates its DOT 50x17 U at up to 16 characters per second and Gravotech its XF510p at up to 12. [1] [3]
COUTH's deep-mark unit gives more than 0.5 mm for parts that are later blasted, machined or painted. [2]
Pryor says oversized dots mean marking force is too high; reduce it in the controller or adjust the pin gap. [4]
Gravotech's 3D stylus extends and retracts to follow uneven surfaces. [3]
Sources checked 2026-10-12. COUTH data sheets are hosted by its distributor Mecco; Gravotech publishes its XF510p and dot peen range page; Pryor publishes a guide to passing AS9132.
Ask for use case, specification boundaries, supplier type, and RFQ preparation information for this product.
Compare manufacturer profiles with relevant product and process capability.