Truck, bus and off-road axle assemblies · drive axles and steer axles, including forklift steer axles · rated axle load, gear ratio, input torque, single vs hub reduction, axle housing, drum or disc brakes, track width, wheel hub bolts and flange
An axle assembly carries a share of the vehicle's weight on its wheels and, on a drive axle, turns propeller-shaft torque through a final drive and differential into wheel torque; a steer axle carries the kingpins and knuckles the wheels turn on. Ask three things first: the rated axle load and the input torque it must carry; the gear ratio and whether the reduction is single-stage in the centre or split with hub (wheel-end) reduction; and the brake type, track and wheel-hub mounting your vehicle uses.
Drive axles (single, tandem, single-reduction and hub-reduction) and steer axles for trucks, buses and construction machinery, forklift steer axles, and the wheel hubs, brakes and spring seats that come with the assembly. Wheel-loader drive axles sold as spare assemblies are included. Propeller shafts, standalone differentials, trailer axles, passenger-car half-shafts and suspension springs bought separately are outside this page except where they set an axle dimension.
01
FAW's 440 drive axle is listed with 30,000 N·m input torque, a 13,000 kg rated axle load, a gear-ratio range of 2.688–3.727 (with a close-ratio gear set of 2.688), Ф410×220 mm brakes, a stamped-and-welded axle housing with a 160×150×14 mm cross-section, and a 1,830 mm track; FAW claims a B10 life up to 1.5 million km and a 200,000 km oil-change interval. [1] FAW's 465 axle raises maximum torque to 38,000 N·m at the same 13,000 kg rating, widens the ratio range to 2.688–5.571, offers 1,878 or 1,830 mm track and 1,054, 989 or 960 mm spring base, and weighs 895 kg as a middle axle and 772 kg as a rear axle. [2] Meritor's specialty brochure lists hypoid single-reduction rear axles from 21,000 lb (9,534 kg) to 35,000 lb (15,876 kg); the RS-23-160, for example, is rated 23,000 lb (10,433 kg) with an 18 in (457 mm) ring gear and standard ratios from 2.50 to 7.17. [3]
Editorial calculation: a 13,000 kg rating is about 28,660 lb (13,000 × 2.2046), which sits between Meritor's 25,000 lb RS-25-160 and 29,000 lb ratings in the same brochure, so metric and imperial catalogue ratings can be lined up before comparing quotes. [1] [3]
Editorial calculation: FAW's 465 lists the middle axle 123 kg heavier than the rear axle (895 − 772 kg), a difference to allow for when the two positions are quoted separately. [2]
Give the supplier the vehicle type and axle position (front steer, front drive, single rear, tandem middle or rear), gross axle weight, engine and gearbox output torque at the axle input, the ratio wanted and road speed target, track, spring base or suspension mounting, brake type and size, wheel-hub bolt pattern, input flange, and quantity.
02
Meritor's brochure separates hypoid single-reduction rear axles from hub-reduction designs: it lists the MX-23-810 front drive steer axle, rated 25,000 lb (11,350 kg) with ratios from 4.88 to 7.80, with a bevel-gear, hub-reduction wheel end. [3] Weichai India's page for Hande axles lists hub-reduction axles of 10T–45T and steering front axles of 4.2T–25T; in its specification table the column for a 10T hub-reduction axle shows a 5.92 transmission ratio, a Φ180 mm input flange (ISO8667-180), Φ410×160 mm brakes with 24 in brake chambers, 36,000 N·m brake torque, and a hub-piloted wheel mount with 10 M22×1.5 wheel bolts on a Φ335 mm reference circle. [4]
For brakes, Meritor's front-axle feature list includes 16.5 in × 5 in S-cam extended-service air brakes with automatic slack adjusters, and its brochure also lists Cast+ cam brakes in 16.5 × 6 in and 16.5 × 8.625 in sizes, its Q+ drum brake, and its EX+ air disc brake; the front-axle feature list gives a 10-stud, 285.75 mm bolt-circle hub-piloted wheel mount or an optional 10-stud, 335 mm bolt circle. [3] FAW's 465 axle can be built with Ф400×200 or Ф410×220 mm drum brakes or a 22.5-inch brake disc. [2]
Ask for the brake drawing (drum diameter × width or disc size), brake torque, chamber size, ABS provision, wheel-stud count and thread, bolt-circle and pilot diameter, and whether hub units are greased or oil-lubricated.
03
Meritor rates its front non-drive steer axles from 12,000 lb (5,448 kg) to 20,000 lb (9,080 kg) and lists each with an axle-beam drop and a king pin intersection distance, such as 71.5 in (1,816 mm). Its ProTec MIS-20E independent front suspension, rated 20,000 lb (9,072 kg), lists 8.5° king pin inclination, 0° camber, 55° maximum steering angle, 85.6 in (2,174 mm) track and a hub-piloted 10-stud, 11.25 in (286 mm) bolt circle. [3] The Hande table lists 5° kingpin inclination, 1° caster and 0–3 mm toe-in for a 120T wheel-crane first axle. [4]
Forklift steer axles are a separate small-axle family. A listing for a steer axle with steering cylinder for Hangcha CPD2-30J electric forklifts gives a net weight of 198.50 kg and describes a welded box-section housing with a steering cylinder, linkage, left and right steering knuckles, kingpins, thrust and needle bearings, tapered roller bearings, hubs, hub bolts and nuts; the steering linkage is a crank-slider mechanism driven by the cylinder's piston rod. [5]
For a steer axle, ask for rated load, kingpin inclination, caster, camber, toe-in, maximum steering angle, kingpin centre distance, beam drop and section; for a forklift steer axle, quote the truck model and the original part number.
04
Three supplier pages have been reviewed: a truck drive-axle maker, a forklift parts maker listing steer and drive axles, and a wheel-loader parts supplier listing a loader drive axle.
When requesting quotations, ask each supplier for the axle drawing, rated load and torque, ratio list, brake and hub drawings, housing section, weight, and the test or durability basis for life claims.
05
This is a functional reference built from the sources cited; it is not one maker's design.
| Element | Role | Fix in the order |
|---|---|---|
| Axle housing | Stamped-and-welded, 160×150×14 mm section example. [1] | Section, track. |
| Final drive / carrier | Hypoid single reduction; 18 in ring gear example. [3] | Ratio, torque. |
| Hub reduction | Reduction at the wheel end; bevel-gear hub reduction example. [3] [4] | Ratio split. |
| Brakes | S-cam drum or air disc; Ф410×220 mm drum example. [3] [1] | Size, torque. |
| Wheel hub | Hub-piloted, 10 × M22×1.5 bolts on Φ335 mm example. [4] | Bolts, pilot. |
| Spring seats | Spring base 1,054/989/960 mm example. [2] | Spring base. |
| Steer knuckles | Kingpins, bearings, linkage on steer axles. [5] | Geometry. |
06
An axle assembly quotation needs values for your project. The table explains each field, gives published values where a reviewed source states them, and says what to obtain from the supplier.
| Field | What it means and published values | Ask the supplier for |
|---|---|---|
| Rated axle load | 13,000 kg example; 21,000–35,000 lb single rear range. [1] [3] | kg per axle. |
| Track width | 1,830 mm example; 1,878/1,830 mm options. [1] [2] | mm. |
| Axle beam diameter | Not stated in reviewed sources; housing section 160×150×14 mm and box size 134 × 117 mm are published instead. [1] [3] | Beam or housing section. |
| Kingpin inclination | 8.5° (IFS); 5° (crane first axle). [3] [4] | Degrees. |
| Caster angle | 1° (crane first axle). [4] | Degrees. |
| Toe-in | 0–3 mm (crane first axle). [4] | mm. |
| Wheel hub bolt circle | 285.75 mm or 335 mm, 10 studs. [3] | Studs, thread, circle. |
| Wheel hub pilot diameter | Not stated in reviewed sources; hub-piloted mounting is listed. [3] | Pilot diameter. |
| Brake mounting type | S-cam drum or air disc; 22.5-inch disc option. [3] [2] | Type, size. |
| Operating temperature | Not stated in reviewed sources. | Range for seals and oil. |
| Surface treatment | Not stated in reviewed sources. | Coating system. |
| Axle weight | 895 kg middle, 772 kg rear; 198.50 kg forklift steer axle. [2] [5] | kg. |
| Gear ratio and input torque | 2.688–3.727 at 30,000 N·m; 38,000 N·m maximum on the 465. [1] [2] | Ratio list, N·m. |
07
Paste it into your enquiry below or into an email to a maker, then replace every bracket.
Axle position: [front steer; front drive; single rear; tandem middle/rear; forklift steer] Load: [rated axle load, kg] Driveline: [input torque N·m; ratio; single or hub reduction; input flange] Wheel end: [track; brake type and size; studs, thread, bolt circle, pilot] Mounting: [spring base or suspension; housing section] Truck or machine model: [model; original part number] Quantity: [units]
These companies list axle assemblies.
Lists 435, 457, 465 and 440 truck drive axles, including the 440 at 13,000 kg rated load and 30,000 N·m input torque.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists forklift steering axle assemblies, including a steer axle with steering cylinder for Hangcha CPD2-30J electric forklifts, and forklift driving axles.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists a drive axle assembly for wheel loaders, along with final drive and wheel hub assemblies, as loader spare parts.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Explore company information and manufacturing capabilities, then discuss the scope of your project with a relevant supplier.
FAW's 440 lists 30,000 N·m input torque, 13,000 kg rated load, ratios 2.688–3.727, Ф410×220 mm brakes, a stamped-and-welded housing and 1,830 mm track. [1]
Meritor lists the MX-23-810 as bevel-gear hub reduction, and Hande offers hub-reduction axles of 10T–45T. [3] [4]
A listed Hangcha CPD2-30J steer axle has a welded box-section housing, steering cylinder, linkage, knuckles, kingpins, bearings and hubs, at 198.50 kg net. [5]
Sources checked 2026-10-11. Sources are maker product pages (FAW, forklift parts listing), a Meritor brochure hosted by Cummins, and a Weichai India page describing Hande axles.
Ask for use case, specification boundaries, supplier type, and RFQ preparation information for this product.
Compare manufacturer profiles with relevant product and process capability.