Editorial Technical Reference

Gauge cluster (instrument cluster)

Vehicle and machine gauge clusters · analog pointer and TFT digital instruments, speedometer and odometer accuracy (UN R39), telltales and warning lights (FMVSS 101), display size, resolution and brightness, CAN inputs, supply voltage, IP rating and temperature

A gauge cluster — instrument cluster, dashboard or cab instrument panel — is the assembly in front of the driver or operator that shows speed, engine RPM, distance, fuel level, coolant temperature and other machine data on pointer gauges, an LCD or TFT screen, or both, together with warning lights (telltales) and a buzzer. It reads sensors directly or receives data over CAN. Ask three things first: which display and gauges it needs and how bright they must be; which inputs and CAN interfaces it must accept; and which speedometer, odometer and telltale rules and which voltage, sealing and temperature ranges it must meet.

Instrument clusters for road vehicles, trucks, buses, tractors and construction and mining machinery: analog stepper-motor gauge clusters, combined pointer-and-LCD clusters and full TFT clusters, including cab instrument panels, speedometers and odometer/trip displays, temperature and fuel gauges, and warning indicator light arrays. Infotainment head units, head-up displays, tachographs, standalone camera monitors and the sensors feeding the cluster are outside this page except where compared.

CNFX editorial research · Sources checked October 11, 2026 · 5 sources

01

Choose the display, gauges and inputs

AMA's instrument catalogue for agricultural and construction machinery shows the span of one maker's range. Its JCluster combines pointer gauges with a 2.4-inch TFT at 240 × 320 and 220 cd/m², 15 LED indicators, one CAN bus and 8–32 V DC supply at IP65. Its MCluster uses a 7-inch TFT at 800 × 480 and 450 cd/m² with 22 LED indicators, one CAN and one LIN bus and two video inputs; the 10VIEW uses a 10-inch touchscreen at 1024 × 600 and 1000 cd/m² with three CAN buses; and the Steering View places a 7-inch 800 × 480 display in the steering wheel at IP67. AMA's D52 stepper-motor gauges show fuel level, water or oil temperature, oil pressure or voltage, and its D80 gauge pairs an RPM or speed pointer with an LCD showing hours or total distance, on 12 V or 24 V with an IP65 front cover. [3]

Pricol's TFT clusters come in 2.8, 5, 7, 10.25 and 12.2 inch sizes with resolution up to 1280 × 720, 1000 cd/m² surface luminance, dual CAN and LIN, auto or manual brightness control, IP65 and IP67 ratings, −30 °C to +85 °C operation and 12 V or 24 V rated supply with operating ranges of 6.5–18 V or 8–32 V DC. [4]

Jining Zhineng's ZN270-2 cluster for construction machinery uses a 13-inch capacitive touch display with two CAN 2.0A/B interfaces, 8 analog inputs, 4 frequency inputs, 8 PWM channels, two AHD video inputs, USB 2.0 and 100 Mbps Ethernet. It runs on 9–32 V DC (24 V rated) at under 12 W, is rated IP65, operates from −30 °C to +70 °C and is stored from −40 °C to +80 °C, in an aluminium alloy housing for flush or universal-joint mounting. [5]

Editorial note: brightness figures in these sources range from 220 to 1000 cd/m²; ask for luminance measured with the same method and for the dimming range, since a cab in direct sun and a night cab need both ends.

Give the supplier the vehicle or machine type and cab (open or closed), display size and type, resolution and luminance, pointer gauges required, telltale list and colours, the CAN, LIN and protocol details (including whether SAE J1939 messages are needed), analog, frequency and digital inputs, video inputs, supply voltage and transients, IP rating, operating and storage temperature, vibration profile, mounting cut-out, connector, languages and quantity.

02

Check speedometer, odometer and telltale rules

UN Regulation No 39 applies to the approval of vehicles of categories L, M and N with regard to speedometer and odometer equipment. The speedometer must sit in the driver's direct field of view, be legible by day and night, and span the vehicle's maximum speed; on M and N vehicles it is graduated in 1, 2, 5 or 10 km/h steps with numbered values at intervals not exceeding 20 km/h up to 200 km/h. Speed indicated must never be less than true speed: at the test speeds, 0 ≤ (V1 − V2) ≤ 0.1 V2 + 4 km/h, with test instruments accurate to ±0.5% and the speedometer at a reference 23 ± 5 °C; for conformity of production on M and N vehicles the upper limit is 0.1 V2 + 6 km/h. The odometer must show at least 6 numerals on M and N vehicles, resolve 1 km or 1 mile, and indicate total distance within ±4.0% of true distance. [1]

FMVSS 101 (49 CFR 571.101) applies to passenger cars, multipurpose vehicles, trucks and buses and sets the location, identification, colour and illumination of controls, telltales and indicators. Listed items must use the symbol, word or abbreviation in its Table 1 or 2; telltale light must be the colour Table 1 specifies, and a telltale may light only for its condition or during a bulb check. Indicator illumination must be adjustable to at least two brightness levels, and the brake, high-beam, turn-signal and seat-belt telltales may never be dimmed to invisible. On a shared message area, those telltales must displace other messages, and red, high-beam, turn-signal, low-tyre-pressure and passenger-air-bag-off telltales cannot be cancelled while their condition persists. [2]

Editorial calculation: under the UN R39 type-approval limit, at a true 100 km/h the speedometer may read from 100 to 0.1 × 100 + 4 + 100 = 114 km/h, and at a true 40 km/h from 40 to 48 km/h. Over a true 100,000 km, ±4.0% allows an odometer reading of 96,000 to 104,000 km. [1]

03

Compare what suppliers offer

Suppliers linked to this page list gauge clusters; each card links to the page reviewed.

The reviewed listing covers instrument cluster assemblies for construction, mining and agricultural machinery, from LCD gauge panels to a 13-inch touch display.

04

Trace the cluster components

This is a functional reference built from the sources cited; it is not one maker's design.

PartRoleFix in the order
TFT or LCD displaySpeed, data, menus. [3] [4]Size, pixels, cd/m².
Pointer gaugesStepper-motor speed, RPM, fuel, temperature. [3]Scales, sensors.
TelltalesWarning lights in set colours. [2] [3]Symbol list, colours.
Odometer and trip displayTotal distance, hours. [1] [3]Digits, units.
Inputs and CANAnalog, frequency, CAN, LIN. [5] [4]Channels, protocol.
Housing and connectorIP rating, mounting. [5] [3]Cut-out, connector.

05

Fill the specification fields with values for your vehicle

A gauge cluster quotation needs values for your vehicle or machine. The table explains each field, gives published values where a reviewed source states them, and says what to obtain from the supplier.

FieldWhat it means and published valuesAsk the supplier for
Operating Voltage (V DC)8–32 V; 9–32 V (24 V rated). [3] [5]Range, transients.
Operating Temperature (°C)−30 to +85; −30 to +70. [4] [5]Operating, storage.
Display Resolution (pixels)240 × 320 to 1024 × 600; up to 1280 × 720. [3] [4]Size, pixels.
Display Brightness (cd/m²)220–1000. [3] [4]Luminance, dimming.
Ingress ProtectionIP65; IP67. [3] [4]Front and rear rating.
Vibration Resistance (Hz)Not stated in reviewed sources.Test profile, report.
Weight (kg)Not stated in reviewed sources.Mass.
Mounting Size (mm)Flush or universal-joint mount. [5]Cut-out drawing.
Backlight Life (h)Not stated in reviewed sources.LED life to half brightness.
Accuracy (%)Speed 0 to +10% +4 km/h; odometer ±4.0%. [1]Test data.
Vehicle networkDual CAN 2.0A/B; dual CAN/LIN. [5] [4]Protocol, messages.

06

Send the vehicle, display and network data together

Paste it into your enquiry below or into an email to a maker, then replace every bracket.

Vehicle or machine: [type; cab; market rules]
Display: [size; resolution; cd/m²; touch]
Gauges and telltales: [pointers; symbol list; colours]
Inputs: [CAN; protocol; analog; frequency; video]
Power: [12 V; 24 V; range]
Environment: [IP; temperature; vibration]
Build: [cut-out; connector; quantity]

See manufacturer records Send an enquiry through CNFX

Compare gauge cluster suppliers

These companies list gauge clusters.

Jining Zhineng Construction Machinery Co., Ltd.
Manufacturing site to be confirmed for the order

Lists instrument cluster assemblies for construction, mining and agricultural machinery, including the 13-inch ZN270-2 with dual CAN.

Product scope checked 2026-10-11

Current product source ↗

Instrument clusters listed · profile compiled by CNFX from public sources

Explore company information and manufacturing capabilities, then discuss the scope of your project with a relevant supplier.

Share this page

Buyer questions

How accurate must a speedometer be?

UN Regulation No 39 requires indicated speed never below true speed and no more than 10% plus 4 km/h above it at type-approval test speeds. [1]

What does FMVSS 101 require of warning lights?

Listed telltales use the specified symbols and colours, light only for their condition or a bulb check, and key ones cannot be dimmed to invisible. [2]

How bright are TFT instrument cluster displays?

Published values run from 220 cd/m² on a 2.4-inch AMA display to 1000 cd/m² on AMA's 10-inch and Pricol's TFT clusters. [3] [4]

Sources and what still needs a direct check

Sources checked 2026-10-11. Two vehicle regulations (UN R39 via EUR-Lex and FMVSS 101 via eCFR) and three cluster makers' own catalogues and product pages; values for your cluster must come from the supplier's datasheet and tests.

  1. EUR-Lex — UN Regulation No 39, speedometer and odometer equipment including its installation [2025/1902] ↗ UN vehicle regulation (EU Official Journal text) Return to text ↑
  2. eCFR — 49 CFR 571.101, FMVSS No. 101 Controls and displays ↗ US federal regulation Return to text ↑
  3. AMA — Instruments division catalogue (JCluster, MCluster, 10VIEW, Steering View, D52, D80) (PDF) ↗ Maker catalogue Return to text ↑
  4. Pricol — TFT instrument clusters specifications page ↗ Maker product page Return to text ↑
  5. Jining Zhineng — ZN270-2 gauge cluster instrument panel product page ↗ Maker product page Return to text ↑

Still to check yourself

  • Fix display size and brightness.
  • List inputs and CAN protocol.
  • Match telltales to FMVSS 101 tables.
  • Confirm UN R39 speed and distance limits.
  • Verify the legal supplier and factory.
Buyer enquiry

Request manufacturing insight for Gauge Cluster

Ask for use case, specification boundaries, supplier type, and RFQ preparation information for this product.

Where it goes
Straight to the CNFX editorial desk, and to the manufacturer if this product is linked to a claimed profile. Nothing is broadcast to a supplier list.
Your details stay here
We do not sell or rent enquiry data, and we do not add you to a mailing list. Used only to answer this request.
No commission, no middleman
CNFX is a directory. We take no cut of any order and never negotiate on a supplier's behalf.
What to include
Share your product specifications, quantity, destination and target delivery date.

Your business information is used only to process this request.

Thank you! Your message has been sent. We'll respond within 1–3 business days.
Sorry, we couldn't send your message. Please try again, or email us at [email protected].

Need to Manufacture Gauge Cluster?

Compare manufacturer profiles with relevant product and process capability.

Previous Product
Vehicle Assembly Unit
Last Product
Get QuotesChat