Photoelectric sensors for machines and conveyors · Through-beam vs retroreflective vs diffuse vs background suppression, sensing range by mode, response time, clear objects, housing and IP rating
A photoelectric sensor detects an object without touching it by emitting a light beam and measuring how much reaches its receiver. Ask three things first: which sensing mode suits the target and mounting — separate emitter and receiver, a reflector, or reflection from the target itself — since range and reliability change several-fold; how fast and how small the target is; and what the sensor must survive, from washdown to temperature.
Photoelectric sensors and switches for presence, position and counting on machines and conveyors: through-beam, retroreflective, diffuse, background-suppression and colour or luster types, self-contained or with separate amplifiers. Photodiodes and photodetector components, safety light curtains, fibre-optic amplifiers sold alone and laser distance measurement are outside this page except where compared.
01
Keyence classifies photoelectric sensors by detection method. Through-beam sensors detect a target crossing the axis between a separate transmitter and receiver, giving long detecting distance, a stable detecting position and detection of opaque objects regardless of shape, colour or material. Retroreflective sensors bounce the beam off a reflector, saving space and wiring on one side and reaching further than diffuse types. Diffuse-reflective sensors need only the sensor unit and no axis alignment, and can detect reflective transparent objects and distinguish colour. Focused-beam, small-spot definite-reflective and fixed-distance types detect minute objects or marks, ignore the background and handle targets of varying reflectance, and luster-recognition types detect transparent targets regardless of colour. [1]
Keyence also distinguishes self-contained sensors, with setup and indicators on the unit, from separate-amplifier types whose smaller heads mount more flexibly, and plastic housings, lighter but weaker, from metal housings such as stainless steel that are more robust and longer-lived. [2]
Give the supplier the target (material, colour, transparency, size, speed), mounting distance and whether a reflector or separate receiver can be fitted, background behind the target, required response time, output (PNP/NPN, IO-Link) and supply voltage, connection (cable or M8/M12 connector), housing size and material, IP rating and washdown, operating temperature, and quantity.
02
Banner's photoelectric selection table shows how range changes with mode. Its QS18 series is rated 20 m opposed, 6.5 m non-polarized and 3.5 m polarized retroreflective, 10 m laser polarized retroreflective, 600 mm diffuse, 150 mm fixed-field and 350 mm adjustable-field, with 600–800 µs response, IP67 and −20 to +70 °C. Its QS30 reaches 60 m opposed and 1,400 mm diffuse at 2,000–5,000 µs; its T18-2 offers IP67, IP68 and IP69K with −40 to +70 °C; and its metal-housed laser Q3X responds in 250 µs with 300 mm diffuse range and IP69K. Some series offer IO-Link and clear-object detection. [3]
Editorial calculation: in the QS18 series the 20 m opposed range is about 6 times the 3.5 m polarized retroreflective range and about 33 times the 0.6 m diffuse range. A target on a conveyor moving at 1 m/s travels 0.6–0.8 mm during the QS18's 600–800 µs response and 2–5 mm during the QS30's 2,000–5,000 µs, which matters when detecting small gaps or edges. [3]
03
IEC 60947-5-2, Low-voltage switchgear and controlgear – Part 5-2: Proximity switches, covers inductive, capacitive, ultrasonic, photoelectric and non-mechanical magnetic proximity switches; photoelectric proximity switches are those that sense the presence of objects. The 2007 third edition described them as self-contained devices with semiconductor switching elements for circuits whose rated voltage does not exceed 250 V 50/60 Hz AC or 300 V DC, and did not cover switches with analogue outputs. The fourth edition of 2019 replaced the 2007 edition and its 2012 amendment; its listed changes include new definitions and test procedures for photoelectric proximity switches of type D with background suppression, updated construction requirements including artificial optical radiation, changes to the sensing range and operating distance specifications, and updated EMC requirements. [4] [5]
The background-suppression mode and the range tables described above by Keyence and Banner sit under this standard; ask which edition the sensor is tested to, since background-suppression requirements were added in 2019. [1] [3] [2]
Editorial calculation: a 24 V DC sensor is well inside the 300 V DC limit of the 2007 scope; a 240 V AC self-contained sensor is within 250 V AC, but anything above that falls outside this part.
| IEC 60947-5-2 point | Edition and content |
|---|---|
| Switch types covered | Inductive, capacitive, ultrasonic, photoelectric, non-mechanical magnetic |
| Supply limits (ed. 3, 2007) | ≤ 250 V 50/60 Hz AC or ≤ 300 V DC; semiconductor switching elements |
| Analogue outputs (ed. 3) | Not covered |
| Current edition | Ed. 4, 2019, replacing ed. 3 (2007) and Amd 1 (2012) |
| New in ed. 4 | Type D photoelectric with background suppression; optical radiation; sensing-range rules; EMC update |
Ask the supplier for the declaration of conformity naming IEC/EN 60947-5-2 and its edition, the sensing-range test conditions and, for background-suppression sensors, whether they were tested as type D under the 2019 edition.
04
Suppliers linked to this page list photoelectric sensors; each card links to the page reviewed.
Listings include cylindrical M18 and rectangular photoelectric sensors, slot types, background-suppression and colour-mark sensors, high-temperature types and infrared emitter and receiver components; ask each for the range by mode on a standard target, response time, output type and IP rating.
05
This is a functional reference built from the sources cited; it is not one maker's specification.
| Element | Role | Fix in the order |
|---|---|---|
| Light emitter | LED or laser source. [3] [1] | Visible, infrared or laser. |
| Receiver | Measures received light. [1] | Sensitivity adjustment. |
| Optics | Set spot and sensing geometry. [1] | Mode and spot size. |
| Amplifier | In the unit or separate. [2] | Self-contained or separate. |
| Housing | Plastic or metal. [2] [3] | Material and IP rating. |
| Reflector (retro mode) | Returns the beam. [1] | Reflector size. |
06
A photoelectric sensor quotation needs values for your application. The table explains each field, gives published values where a reviewed source states them, and says what to obtain from the supplier.
| Field | What it means and published values | Ask the supplier for |
|---|---|---|
| Detection range (m) | 20 m opposed to 0.15 m fixed-field (QS18). [3] | Range for your mode and target. |
| Response time (ms) | 0.25 ms (Q3X) to 2–5 ms (QS30). [3] | Value. |
| Supply voltage (V DC) | Not stated in reviewed sources. | Range. |
| Output current (mA) | Not stated in reviewed sources. | Load rating. |
| Operating temperature (°C) | −40 to +70 °C (T18-2). [3] | Range. |
| Protection class | IP67 to IP69K. [3] | IP rating. |
| Housing material | Plastic or metal. [2] [3] | Material. |
| Connection type | IO-Link available on some series. [3] | Cable or connector. |
| Light source (nm) | LED or laser. [3] | Wavelength. |
| Switching frequency (Hz) | Not stated in reviewed sources. | Value. |
| Repeat accuracy (mm) | Not stated in reviewed sources. | Value. |
| Weight (g) | Not stated in reviewed sources. | Weight. |
| Product standard | IEC 60947-5-2 (ed. 4, 2019; ed. 3 scope ≤ 250 V AC / 300 V DC). [4] [5] | Standard and edition tested to. |
07
Paste it into your enquiry below or into an email to a maker, then replace every bracket.
Target: [material; colour; transparency; size; speed] Mounting: [distance; reflector or receiver possible; background] Performance: [response time; repeatability] Electrical: [supply; PNP/NPN; IO-Link] Connection: [cable or M8/M12] Environment: [IP; washdown; temperature] Quantity: [units]
These companies list photoelectric sensors.
Lists cylindrical and through-beam photoelectric sensors.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists cylindrical, rectangular and slot photoelectric sensors.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists photoelectric sensors.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists photoelectric sensors among automation sensors.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists cylindrical and background-suppression photoelectric sensors.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists photoelectric sensors.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists reflective and through-beam photoelectric switches with infrared components (Chinese site).
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists photoelectric sensors in its machinery menu.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists photoelectric and colour-mark sensors.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists photoelectric sensors alongside heaters and thermostats.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists cylindrical, square and high-temperature photoelectric sensors.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists cylindrical, square, miniature and limited-reflection photoelectric sensors.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Explore company information and manufacturing capabilities, then discuss the scope of your project with a relevant supplier.
Through-beam (opposed): Banner's QS18 is rated 20 m opposed against 3.5–6.5 m retroreflective and 600 mm diffuse. [3]
Keyence says small-spot definite-reflective and fixed-distance sensors minimise the effect of the target background. [1]
Keyence lists diffuse sensors for reflective transparent objects and luster recognition for transparent targets; some Banner series offer clear-object detection. [1] [3]
IEC 60947-5-2 covers photoelectric proximity switches with other proximity switch types; the 2019 fourth edition added definitions and tests for type D sensors with background suppression. [4]
Sources checked 2026-10-12. Keyence and Banner make photoelectric sensors and describe their own products; Banner's ranges are for its listed series. Ranges depend on target and reflector, so ask for figures on your target.
Ask for use case, specification boundaries, supplier type, and RFQ preparation information for this product.
Compare manufacturer profiles with relevant product and process capability.