Drilling rig top drives · Motor-and-gearbox units hung in the derrick that rotate the drill string from the top, rated by API 8C hoisting capacity, continuous drilling torque and speed, makeup and breakout torque, motor power, washpipe pressure, pipe handler and working height
A top drive hangs from the travelling block in a drilling rig's mast and turns the drill string from the top through a hollow main shaft, replacing the rotary table and kelly for drilling, making and breaking connections and circulating mud. Ask three things first: what hoisting capacity and torque the wells need, what power supply and controls the rig has, and what pressure, pipe-handling and environmental ratings apply.
Electric and hydraulic top drive systems for land and offshore drilling rigs, with their motors, gearboxes, pipe handlers, washpipe and IBOP valves. Complete drilling rigs (see oil drilling rig and rotary drilling rig), drill pipe (see drill pipe), rotary tables and blowout preventers are outside this page.
01
NOV's top drive model table spans hoisting capacities from 250 tons (TDS-10SH, one 400 hp motor, 22,288 ft-lb continuous torque) through 500 tons (for example TDS-11SA with two 400 hp motors and 37,100 ft-lb) and 750–1,000 tons up to 1,500 tons with two 1,340 hp motors and 105,000 ft-lb maximum continuous torque. [1]
Its TDS-11-800 data sheet gives 500 ton API 8C hoisting and rotating capacity (453,592 kg), two 400 hp AC induction motors, a 10.5:1 gear ratio, 37,100 ft-lb (50,300 N·m) maximum continuous torque at 110 rpm, 228 rpm maximum speed, 50,000 ft-lb makeup torque, 60,000 ft-lb breakout torque and a 39,000 ft-lb static lock brake, and says the unit can be upgraded to 1,200 or 1,400 hp. [2]
Canrig says its top drives are engineered to API 8C with the API monogram and automate engaging and disengaging the rotary and pumps to reduce pipe-sticking events and manual work; it lists a 500-ton Sigma model for high continuous torque in long laterals. [3]
Editorial calculation: 800 hp is about 597 kW, and 37,100 ft-lb at 110 rpm corresponds to about 777 hp (37,100 × 110 ÷ 5,252) at the stem. [2]
Give the supplier the rig type and mast, required hoisting capacity (API 8C rating), continuous drilling torque and speed, makeup and breakout torque, electrical supply or hydraulic power available, drill pipe and casing sizes, mud pressure, IBOP requirements, ambient temperature range, control system interface, portable or permanent installation, and certification needs.
02
NOV's TDS-11-800 data sheet lists a 3 in water course with 7,500 psi (517 bar) washpipe packing, upgradable to 10,000 psi with a divided pressure washpipe; 15,000 psi (1,034 bar) IBOPs, the upper remotely operated; a PH-75 pipe handler with 75,000 ft-lb torque capacity for connections of 3-1/8 to 8-5/8 in OD; unlimited 360° rotation; 250, 350 and 500 ton API elevator links; and casing running tool readiness as an option. [2]
Fit and environment data in the same sheet include a 19 ft (5,791 mm) working height, 28,000 lb (12,700 kg) weight, 73.8 × 56.8 in footprint, local blower cooling, onboard hydraulic power, force-fed filtered lube, and temperature configurations from −40 °C to +55 °C. NOV says the unit can be used portable or permanent and retrofitted into existing rigs, with software options such as SoftSpeed II, Twister and tilt monitoring. [2]
03
RG Petro-Machinery and Sichuan Honghua each have a top drive product page on their own website.
Ask any supplier for API 8C certificate and rating, torque–speed curves, motor and drive type, washpipe and IBOP ratings, pipe handler range, working height, weight and footprint, guide beam and dolly interface, temperature and hazardous-area ratings, control integration, spares and service support.
04
Bentec, a drilling equipment maker, lists eight top drive models on its drilling equipment page, from the TD-200-HT (200 tons, 450 hp, 23,600 ft-lbs maximum continuous torque) to the TD-750-UXT (750 tons, 2,000 hp, 92,195 ft-lbs), as in the table; the page writes thousands with a point (23.600 = 23,600). Bentec claims its top drives provide up to 30% more continuous torque capacity, without stating what that is compared with. It also lists service loops for operation from −45 °C to +55 °C and a self-contained top drive VFD container for AC top drives up to 1,715 hp, which it says works with Bentec or other top drive brands. [4]
Editorial calculation: in the 500-ton class, Bentec's TD-500-XT lists 52,000 ft-lbs on 1,140 hp, against 37,100 ft-lb on two 400 hp motors for NOV's TDS-11-800 above, about 40% more torque (52,000 ÷ 37,100 = 1.40). The Bentec table gives no speed for its torque values, so ask each supplier for the torque–speed curve, the speed at maximum continuous torque, the API 8C rating and the drive and power supply before comparing models. [4] [2]
| Bentec model | Hoisting capacity and horsepower | Max. continuous torque |
|---|---|---|
| TD-200-HT [4] | 200 tons, 450 hp | 23,600 ft-lbs |
| TD-250-C [4] | 250 tons, 672 hp | 35,200 ft-lbs |
| TD-275-HT [4] | 275 tons, 672 hp | 35,200 ft-lbs |
| TD-350-HT [4] | 350 tons, 1,030 hp | 46,500 ft-lbs |
| TD-500-XT [4] | 500 tons, 1,140 hp | 52,000 ft-lbs |
| TD-750-HT [4] | 750 tons, 1,609 hp | 73,760 ft-lbs |
| TD-750-XT [4] | 750 tons, 1,710 hp | 78,000 ft-lbs |
| TD-750-UXT [4] | 750 tons, 2,000 hp | 92,195 ft-lbs |
05
Every row except controls rests on NOV's TDS-11-800 flyer, so the right-hand column names the rating to compare on another maker's unit.
| Part | Role | Fix in the order |
|---|---|---|
| Drilling motors | Drive rotation. [2] [1] | AC; power. |
| Transmission | Sets torque and speed. [2] | Gear ratio. |
| Main shaft and washpipe | Carry load and mud flow. [2] | Water course; psi. |
| IBOP valves | Shut in the string. [2] | Pressure rating. |
| Pipe handler | Makes and breaks connections. [2] | Torque; OD range. |
| Controls and software | Automate drilling functions. [3] [2] | Integration. |
06
Each published value is from NOV's 500-ton TDS-11-800; ingress protection, supply voltage and tilt angle are not stated in the sources.
| Field | What it means and published values | Ask the supplier for |
|---|---|---|
| Rated Torque (kN·m) | e.g. 50.3 kN·m continuous (37,100 ft-lb). [2] | Continuous; breakout. |
| Max Speed (r/min) | e.g. 228 rpm. [2] | Speed range. |
| Max Hook Load (kN) | e.g. 500 ton API 8C (453,592 kg), about 4,450 kN (editorial conversion: 453,592 kg × 9.81 m/s²). [2] | Rated load. |
| Operating Temperature (°C) | e.g. −40 to +55 °C configurations. [2] | Range. |
| Ingress Protection | Not stated in the reviewed sources. | Rating; hazardous area. |
| Motor Power (kW) | e.g. 2 × 400 hp (≈597 kW total). [2] | Power. |
| Voltage (V AC) | AC induction motors; voltage not stated. [2] | Supply. |
| Weight (kg) | e.g. 12,700 kg. [2] | Weight. |
| Height (m) | e.g. 5.79 m working height. [2] | Working height. |
| Bore Diameter (mm) | e.g. 3 in (76.2 mm) water course. [2] | Bore. |
| Tilt Angle (°) | Tilt monitoring available; angle not stated. [2] | Link tilt. |
07
Paste it into your enquiry below or into an email to a maker, then replace every bracket.
Rig: [land; offshore; mast] Hoisting: [tons API 8C] Torque: [continuous; makeup; breakout] Speed: [rpm] Power: [AC supply; hydraulic] Pressure: [washpipe psi; IBOP psi] Pipe: [sizes; casing running] Environment: [temperature; hazardous area]
2 companies list this product among what they make. Company figures are quoted from each company's own website; every card states where the relationship came from.
Its website has a product page for top drive assembly.
Product scope checked 2026-10-12
Its website has a product page for top drive assembly.
Product scope checked 2026-10-12
Explore company information and manufacturing capabilities, then discuss the scope of your project with a relevant supplier.
NOV's TDS-11-800 lists 37,100 ft-lb continuous at 110 rpm. [2]
NOV's table runs from 250 to 1,500 tons and 22,288 to 105,000 ft-lb continuous torque. [1]
Bentec lists its three 750-ton models at 73,760, 78,000 and 92,195 ft-lbs maximum continuous torque, on 1,609 to 2,000 hp. [4]
Sources checked 2026-10-11. NOV's model table and TDS-11-800 flyer, Canrig's top drive page and Bentec's model table each describe that maker's own top drives.
Ask for use case, specification boundaries, supplier type, and RFQ preparation information for this product.
Compare manufacturer profiles with relevant product and process capability.