Process flow regulation
Read the seat size, the flow coefficient and the shut-off test together. Follow the stem and actuator, compare a real DN50 trim table, then specify the process conditions that determine the valve’s working position.
Start with your task
01
This structure is a functional reference for a pneumatic sliding-stem globe valve. Emerson’s terminology separates the pressure-retaining body, moving trim and actuator; BCST describes the ZJHP body, guided plug, diaphragm and packing. It is not a manufacturing parts list or an interchangeability drawing [1] [2].
| Assembly | Job in the valve | Material or configuration to confirm |
|---|---|---|
| Body and bonnet | Contain the process fluid and locate the trim and stem connection. | BCST lists WCB and stainless options, plus normal, heat-sink and bellows bonnet forms. Its stainless names and legacy grade strings require an agreed material specification; do not substitute a casting grade from the name alone [2]. |
| Plug, seat and guide | Changing the plug position changes the available flow area; the seat is the closing interface. | BCST offers upper-guided single-seat and sleeve variants. Request the actual plug/seat material and drawing; the reviewed page does not establish Stellite trim or a universal seat material [2] [1]. |
| Stem and connector | Transmit actuator motion to the closure member. | BCST lists a 2Cr13 push rod. Obtain the stem/connector specification for the ordered valve; a listed push-rod grade does not prove all wetted trim uses it [2]. |
| Packing and body joints | Seal around the sliding stem and the assembled body/bonnet joints. | BCST lists PTFE or flexible graphite packing, and stainless/graphite spiral-wound or PTFE gasket descriptions. Confirm the chosen combination at the process temperature; seat leakage does not measure packing emissions [2] [1]. |
| Diaphragm, spring and actuator housing | Convert air pressure into motion against the spring and valve loads. | BCST lists reinforced NBR diaphragm, 60Si2Mn spring and A3 diaphragm cover. These are maker-listed parts, not evidence for the old generic aluminium actuator entry [2]. |
| Positioner and air regulator, if supplied | Control stem position and condition the actuator’s air supply. | BCST lists a positioner and pressure reducer as order accessories. Specify the positioner model, signal and supply requirements; its housing material and electronics rating are not stated for the ZJHP assembly [2] [1]. |
A diaphragm valve’s membrane is part of its process closure. The diaphragm described here belongs to the pneumatic actuator; it does not establish a diaphragm-type process valve [2] [1].
02
Capacity is the flow through a valve expressed as Cv or Kv under stated conditions, and the rated flow coefficient is the value at rated travel [1].
BCST's ZJHP single-seat valve offers more than one seat diameter per nominal size. At DN50, seats of 32, 40 and 50 mm give rated linear coefficients of 17.6, 27.5 and 44 [2]. Choose the seat to match the flow, not just the pipe.
The ZJHP table labels the entries “Rated flow” without identifying Kv or Cv [2]. Emerson gives 0.865 as the liquid sizing constant for Cv with m³/h and bar; the corresponding relation is Kv ≈ 0.865 Cv, or Cv ≈ 1.156 Kv. Ask the maker to name the coefficient convention before using these numbers in a sizing calculation [1].
| ZJHP seat diameter (DN50 body) | Rated coefficient, linear trim | Rated coefficient, equal-percentage trim |
|---|---|---|
| 32 mm | 17.6 | 16 |
| 40 mm | 27.5 | 25 |
| 50 mm | 44 | 40 |
The three entries share a DN50 body in the BCST table; the merged travel row assigns 25 mm to this size group. Neither body DN nor seat diameter resolves the missing coefficient unit. The catalogue’s other travels belong to other size groups [2].
03
Inherent characteristic is measured at constant pressure drop; the installed characteristic is what you get when pressure drop changes with flow in the real system [1].
Rangeability is the ratio of largest to smallest flow coefficient within which deviation from the specified characteristic stays inside stated limits [1]. BCST states an inherent adjustable ratio of 50:1 for ZJHP [2]; ask what deviation limit that figure assumes.
04
The handbook says “Oversizing of valves sometimes occurs” when trying to reduce process variability, from using line-size valves and adding multiple safety factors, and that an oversized valve puts too much gain in the valve [1].
Give minimum, normal and maximum flow, fluid properties, inlet/outlet pressure and temperature together. Request the calculated coefficient and valve travel at each condition, including the actual fittings and trim coefficients [1].
Emerson’s sizing constants use absolute pressures. Gauge values may be supplied if clearly marked and converted for the calculation; vapour and critical pressures must use the correct absolute basis. A pressure-drop value alone does not define the inlet-pressure ratio [1].
IEC 60534-2-1:2011 covers the stated compressible/incompressible flow equations and states the equations are not intended for non-Newtonian fluids, fluid mixtures, slurries or liquid-solid conveyance systems; its summary allows some non-vaporising multicomponent liquids with caution and includes non-turbulent corrections. Flashing/choked flow and reducers require the applicable calculation, not an unrestricted water formula [3] [1].
Oversizing can place the valve at low travel and make control more sensitive. Emerson’s discussion includes rotary-valve gain and seal-friction examples; their angular ranges are not allowable-travel limits for this globe valve. Ask for the selected trim’s installed behaviour rather than adding repeated capacity margins [1].
Future expansion is a separate duty to evaluate. Replacement later may be an economic choice, as the handbook discusses; it is not a requirement to discard every valve when the process changes [1].
05
State the standard edition and the complete seat-leakage test. FCI currently lists ANSI/FCI 70-2-2021; IEC’s catalogue lists IEC 60534-4:2021. The table summarises Emerson’s published handbook conditions. Agree the complete acceptance procedure for the selected edition and the ordered valve configuration [5] [4] [1].
FCI’s guidance distinguishes control valves from isolation valves. The production test provides a defined comparison point; it is not proof of zero in-service flow or a substitute for the process’s isolation arrangement [6].
| Class and limit | Test conditions in the handbook | Closing-load and measurement condition |
|---|---|---|
| II: 0.5%; III: 0.1%; IV: 0.01% of rated capacity | Air or water at 10–52 °C. Use 3–4 bar or the maximum operating differential, whichever is lower. | Full normal actuator closing thrust; outlet at atmosphere or a suitable low-head measuring device [1]. |
| V: 0.0005 mL/min water per inch of orifice diameter per psi differential | Water at 10–52 °C, maximum service pressure drop without exceeding body rating, or a lesser agreed pressure. | Fill the cavity/piping with water; use the specified maximum actuator thrust, without adding force available only during the test; allow flow to stabilise [1]. |
| VI: limit by nominal port diameter; 51 mm example is 0.45 mL/min | Air or nitrogen at 10–52 °C. Use 3.5 bar or the maximum rated differential, whichever is lower. | Actuator adjusted to the specified operating condition with normal closing thrust; allow stabilisation and use a suitable measuring device [1]. |
The Class VI example concerns nominal PORT diameter, not DN50 body size. The handbook’s alternative 3 bubbles/min uses a calibrated apparatus and defined tube/immersion conditions; counting arbitrary bubbles is not an equivalent test. Class V and VI use different media and bases, so they cannot be compared as one unconditional leakage number. BCST does not state a ZJHP leakage class on the reviewed page [1] [2].
06
The ZJHP uses a ZHA(B) pneumatic multi-spring diaphragm actuator [2].
07
These fields belong to different parts of the valve package. Fields marked for the supplier require a written answer from the selected model’s supplier; a metal body, pneumatic actuator or electronic positioner cannot establish the others’ limits.
| Specification | Unit or form | What must accompany it |
|---|---|---|
| Nominal diameter | DN / NPS | Pipe/body connection size plus seat diameter and flange dimensions; DN50 in the example has three seat options [2]. |
| Flow coefficient | Kv or Cv | Named convention, rated travel and characteristic. Cv is a coefficient with a reference US-gpm water test, not guaranteed process gpm at every pressure drop [1]. |
| Operating pressure | bar / MPa; basis marked | Inlet, outlet and differential at each duty; body pressure-temperature rating and maximum allowable shut-off differential are separate [1] [2]. |
| Operating temperature | °C | Fluid and ambient conditions, with selected bonnet, seals and actuator/accessory limits. The BCST temperature rows differ and need a configuration-specific reply [2]. |
| Seat leakage | Standard / edition / class | Medium, temperature, test pressure, port size, closing load and result; this field is not packing emissions or isolation qualification [1] [6]. |
| Actuator type | Pneumatic spring diaphragm / other | ZHA(B) is the BCST-listed example. State spring action, available force at minimum air and maximum differential, and required failure sequence [2] [1]. |
| Control signal | mA or named protocol | Specify the actual positioner and its input. The ZJHP page does not establish 4–20 mA or HART for every order [2]. |
| Electrical supply | V, if applicable | Requirement of the selected positioner/solenoid or other accessory; do not give the pneumatic body a generic voltage [2]. |
| Ingress protection | IP, component identified | Obtain the actual electronic enclosure rating and installation requirements. No assembly-wide IP rating is established by the reviewed ZJHP page [2]. |
| Body material | Standard / casting grade | BCST’s WCB/stainless labels and legacy grade strings need a confirmed specification and agreed material documentation; stainless naming alone does not prove a CF8/CF8M casting [2]. |
| Trim material | Part-specific grades / treatment | Name plug, seat, stem and guide separately. The published push-rod grade does not establish seat hardness, coating or Stellite trim [2]. |
| End connections | Flange/thread standard and dimensions | BCST lists GB/JB/HG flange references and G3/4 thread. Specify exact edition, face, drilling and joint requirements; broad catalogue references do not establish fit [2]. |
| Weight | kg, supplied configuration | Obtain assembly weight and installation drawing with actuator and accessories; the reviewed page does not publish a weight for the DN50 package [2]. |
08
Emerson separates friction/deadband, actuator sizing and seat leakage. Keep those mechanisms separate when specifying service checks; a slow response does not by itself identify a damaged seat [1].
09
Paste it into your enquiry below or into an email to a maker, then replace every bracket.
Tag/model and quantity: [ ] Fluid/composition and phase: [ ]; density/SG, viscosity and vapour/critical properties as applicable [ ] Duty points: minimum / normal / maximum flow [units]; inlet/outlet pressure [units, absolute or gauge explicitly] and temperature at EACH point [ ] Piping: inlet/outlet sizes, reducers/fittings and available installation envelope [ ] Sizing: applicable IEC 60534-2-1 method; required Kv or Cv, selected rated coefficient, trim coefficients and travel at each duty [ ] Body/seat: DN/NPS [ ], seat diameter [ ], trim characteristic and stated rangeability definition [ ] Pressure boundary: rating/pressure-temperature table [ ], exact body and bonnet material specification [ ] Ends: connection standard/edition, facing and drilling [ ]; installed dimensions/weight [ ] Trim/seals: plug/seat/stem grades [ ], bonnet type, packing/gaskets [ ] Seat-leakage acceptance: standard/edition and class [ ], medium/temperature/pressure/port size/closing load and test record [ ] Actuator: model/bench set [ ], available minimum/normal/maximum air [ ], sizing at maximum differential [ ] Failure sequence: required position on air loss [ ], signal loss [ ], power loss [ ]; lock-up/solenoid scope [ ] Positioner/accessories: exact model, input/protocol, electrical supply/IP rating and connection requirements [ ] Documents: sizing sheet, package drawing, agreed material records, body-pressure and seat-leakage test records, installation/service instructions [ ] Delivery: destination [ ], required date [ ]
See source-checked manufacturers Send an enquiry through CNFX
12 companies list this product among what they make. Company figures are quoted from each company's own website; every card states where the relationship came from.
BCST’s ZJHP page lists pneumatic single-seat and sleeve control-valve options. DN50 seat choices and catalogue units are discussed above; obtain the exact trim, rating and loss-of-air action in the quotation. This product page does not verify certificates or current stock.
Product scope checked 2026-10-09
Landee’s control-valve catalogue lists pneumatic WCB globe and single-seat valves alongside electric, ball and butterfly options. Select a specific globe entry rather than treating every product in this mixed category as modulating trim. The old U-Stamp/company figures are not used here as valve qualification.
Product scope checked 2026-10-09
Neway’s current Products page lists single-seated, cage-guided, bellows-seal and staged pressure-reduction control-valve categories. A separate single-seat navigation URL returned 404; the category establishes an offering, but the selected model’s data sheet, actuator and test conditions still require a direct reply.
Product scope checked 2026-10-09
AFC publishes a top-guided control-valve page with balanced trim and bonnet options. Its catalogue’s IV/VI and “bubble-tight” labels need the actual test conditions and ordered configuration; they are not process-isolation guarantees or an acceptance record.
Product scope checked 2026-10-09
AUTORUN’s control-valve category separately lists pneumatic diaphragm regulating valves, a diaphragm-actuated single-seat valve and electric control valves. Confirm the offered actuator, handwheel/positioner scope and failure sequence; the category’s stock language is not verified availability.
Product scope checked 2026-10-09
Explore company information and manufacturing capabilities, then discuss the scope of your project with a relevant supplier.
Both express valve capacity. With flow in m³/h and pressure in bar, Kv is about 0.865 times Cv for the same valve. Always state which one a data sheet uses. [1]
Specify the process consequence and the test. Class IV is capacity-based, Class V is a water-leakage limit related to port diameter and pressure, and Class VI is a gas test with port-size limits. Their conditions differ; a class is not a guarantee of process isolation. [1] [6]
Choose from the process duty and trim calculation. A line-size body does not select its seat: BCST’s DN50 example has three seat diameters with different rated coefficients. Excess capacity can force operation at low travel. [1] [2]
Emerson's handbook says linear is “commonly specified for liquid level control” and for flow loops requiring constant gain. Equal percentage suits pressure control and systems where the valve gets a small share of the pressure drop. [1]
Sources checked 2026-10-12. BCST’s product tabs establish its ZJHP catalogue and its unresolved coefficient, temperature, material and action labels. Emerson’s selected handbook pages explain terminology, sizing and defined leakage tests. IEC and FCI public summaries identify the listed editions and scope, rather than the complete acceptance procedure. Request the agreed test procedure and the delivered valve’s records; these references do not verify its certificates.
Ask for use case, specification boundaries, supplier type, and RFQ preparation information for this product.
Compare manufacturer profiles with relevant product and process capability.