Industrial limit switches · Lever, roller-lever and plunger switches with 1 NC + 1 NO contacts, IEC 60947-5-1 ratings such as AC-15 240 V / 1.5 A, 10 million mechanical operations and IP65–IP67 enclosures
A limit switch is a mechanically operated switch that opens or closes an electrical circuit when a moving part of a machine reaches a set position, so the control system can stop, reverse or start the next step. It has an actuator (lever, roller lever or plunger), a contact block and an enclosure. Ask three things first: how the machine part will strike the actuator and at what speed, what load the contacts switch and in which IEC utilization category, and what environment and safety function the switch serves.
Electromechanical position limit switches for machines, conveyors, cranes and automation: lever, roller-lever, plunger and rotary (gear) limit switches, including direct-opening safety versions. Valve limit switch boxes and position indicators (see position indicator), safety interlock switches for guard doors (see safety interlock switch), proximity sensors (see proximity sensor), float switches and pressure switches are outside this page.
01
FILN describes a limit switch as a mechanically operated switch that makes or breaks an electrical circuit when a machine reaches a predetermined position, used to prevent over-travel, provide position feedback and ensure safety; its range includes roller limit switches, rotary limit switches, micro limit switches with rollers and roller-lever switches for garage doors. [3] CNC Electric describes its XCK-J series as monitoring and controlling the stopping points of mechanical movements, with adjustable actuating arms, to prevent over-travel in machinery such as elevators, conveyors and robotic arms. [4]
Bernstein's IN65-U1 AHDM is a plastic-bodied limit switch with a 6 mm metal wire lever adjustable in 15° steps, an actuating force of 10–30 N, an operating point tolerance of ±3.5°, and an actuation head that can be turned in 45° steps for 16 actuation directions; it has 1 NC and 1 NO contacts (form Zb) in silver with a 4 mm (2 × 2 mm) isolating distance, and is rated for operating speeds of 0.06–30 m/min and up to 60 operations per minute. [1]
Bernstein's BI2-U1Z W has a thermoplastic push-bolt (plunger) actuator intended to be actuated along its axis, 1 NC and 1 NO contacts, and direct opening action to IEC/EN 60947-5-1 annex K, with protection class II (totally insulated). [2]
Give the supplier the machine and motion, the approach direction and speed of the striking part, the travel available, the actuator type and length, contact arrangement, voltage and load with utilization category, any safety function and direct-opening requirement, the environment (temperature, water, dust, oil), cable entry and connection, and quantity.
02
The IN65 lists rated insulation voltage 400 V, rated impulse withstand voltage 4 kV, rated operational voltage 240 V AC / 24 V DC, a conventional thermal current of 5 A, minimum current 1 mA, utilization categories AC-15 240 V / 1.5 A and DC-13 24 V / 1.5 A, a 4 A gG fuse for short-circuit protection, maximum contact resistance 25 mΩ when new, mechanical life of 10 × 10⁶ operating cycles, electrical life on request, B10d of 20 × 10⁶ cycles for the NC contact, a glass-fibre-reinforced thermoplastic enclosure to UL 94-V0, IP66/IP67 to EN 60529, operating temperature −30 to +75 °C, an M20 × 1.5 cable entry and a weight of about 0.09 kg. [1]
The BI2 lists rated insulation voltage 400 V AC, a conventional thermal current of 10 A, mechanical life of 10 × 10⁶ operating cycles, B10d of 20 × 10⁶ cycles, IP65, ambient −30 to +80 °C and a weight of about 0.08 kg; both datasheets state that the IP rating applies only with the cover properly closed and a suitable cable gland. [2] [1]
Editorial calculation: 30 m/min is 0.5 m/s and 0.06 m/min is 0.001 m/s; at the IN65's maximum of 60 operations per minute, 10 × 10⁶ cycles is about 2,780 hours of continuous switching. [1]
03
The companies below list machine limit switches on their own websites. A listing shows what a company offers; confirm the legal seller, factory and certification for your order.
Ask any supplier for actuator types and lengths, contact arrangement and material, utilization categories and ratings, thermal current, mechanical and electrical life, B10d values for safety use, direct-opening approval, enclosure material and IP rating, temperature range, cable entry, approvals, and a datasheet for each model offered.
04
This is a functional reference built from the sources cited; it is not one maker's specification.
| Part | Role | Fix in the order |
|---|---|---|
| Actuator (lever, roller, plunger) | Is struck by the moving part. [1] [2] | Type; force; direction. |
| Actuation head | Sets the approach direction. [1] | Orientation. |
| Contact block | Makes or breaks the circuit. [1] | NC/NO; rating. |
| Enclosure and cover | Protects contacts; sets IP. [1] | Material; IP. |
| Terminals and cable entry | Connect the wiring. [1] | Screw size; M20. |
05
A limit switch quotation needs values for your machine and circuit. The table explains each field, gives published values where a reviewed source states them, and says what to obtain from the supplier.
| Field | What it means and published values | Ask the supplier for |
|---|---|---|
| Rated Operating Voltage (V DC) | e.g. 24 V DC (and 240 V AC). [1] | Ue per category. |
| Rated Operating Current (A) | e.g. 1.5 A at AC-15 and DC-13; I_the 5–10 A. [1] [2] | Ie; I_the. |
| Mechanical Life (operations) | e.g. 10 × 10⁶ cycles. [1] [2] | Life; B10d. |
| Electrical Life (operations) | Given as on request by one maker. [1] | Life at your load. |
| Contact Resistance (mΩ) | e.g. 25 mΩ max when new. [1] | Value. |
| Insulation Resistance (MΩ) | Not stated in the reviewed sources. | Value. |
| Dielectric Strength (V AC) | e.g. Ui 400 V; Uimp 4 kV. [1] | Test voltage. |
| Operating Temperature Range (°C) | e.g. −30 to +75 °C; −30 to +80 °C. [1] [2] | Range. |
| Degree of Protection | e.g. IP66/IP67; IP65. [1] [2] | IP; conditions. |
| Actuation Speed (m/s) | e.g. 0.001–0.5 m/s (0.06–30 m/min). [1] | Speed range. |
| Repeat Accuracy (mm) | Not stated in the reviewed sources. One lever switch gives an operating point tolerance of ±3.5°. [1] | Repeatability. |
| Housing Material | e.g. glass-fibre-reinforced thermoplastic, UL 94-V0. [1] | Material. |
| Weight (kg) | e.g. about 0.08–0.09 kg. [1] [2] | Weight. |
06
Paste it into your enquiry below or into an email to a maker, then replace every bracket.
Machine: [motion; approach direction; speed] Actuator: [lever; roller; plunger; length] Contacts: [NC/NO; direct opening] Load: [voltage; current; AC-15/DC-13] Life: [operations; B10d] Enclosure: [material; IP; temperature] Connection: [cable entry; terminals] Quantity: [pieces]
These companies list machine limit switches on their own websites.
Lists XCK-J and other limit switch series.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists XCK limit switches among control products.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists crane limit switches, including overload limit switches.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Lists roller, rotary and micro limit switches.
Product scope checked 2026-10-11
Explore company information and manufacturing capabilities, then discuss the scope of your project with a relevant supplier.
FILN describes it as a mechanically operated switch that makes or breaks a circuit when a machine reaches a set position. [3]
Bernstein's BI2 lists direct opening action to IEC/EN 60947-5-1 annex K for its NC contact. [2]
Bernstein lists 10 million mechanical cycles; electrical life depends on the load and is given on request. [1]
Sources checked 2026-10-11. Bernstein makes limit and safety switches; CNC Electric and FILN list limit switch ranges.
Ask for use case, specification boundaries, supplier type, and RFQ preparation information for this product.
Compare manufacturer profiles with relevant product and process capability.